We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service - Best vacation ever - Can't wait to go back!!”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Inn
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I just got home from spending 6 wonderful nights at the Islander Inn. We originally planned to spend 5 nights but we were having such a nice time we wanted to stay an extra night and THANK YOU STARLA for going out of your way to make it happen. We had an oceanfront room that was large and very clean THANK YOU LADIES for all you did to keep our room tidy and for all the nice fresh towels. The breakfast room was very nice - with a good selection of breakfast foods. The pools, hot tub and grounds were clean and well maintained. I can't say enough nice things about the Islander - It was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 523 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just booked my first stay at the Islander Inn for Mother's Day. Am on a budget due to being laid off from work but still trying to give my mom the first class Mother's Day she deserves. Starla was extremely friendly & helpful! She got me and my mom into an Oceanfront room for 3 nights for a wonderful rate. At first they didn't have an oceanfront room available on the last night so we were going to have to move to another room which would have been a big inconvenience for my mom, but Starla went the extra mile to move things around so that not only could we get an oceanfront room for all 3 nights but we got to stay in the same room! How wonderfully refreshing it is to know that customer service like this is still alive! Thank you so much Starla for your extra effort and your "can do" attitude. Looking forward to our stay and showing my mom a wonderful time on Mother's Day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased to hear that you will be spending Mother's Day with us. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. I will pass along your compliments to Starla. We do pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I am so glad that everything worked out as you wished. We very much look forward to seeing you soon!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Looking forward to another trek this coming summer to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn. The Islander is a great place to stay beachfront and offers a great value in accommodations/price. The staff is friendly and very customer focused to locate a room of your specific request (as they just did for us!) and any issue is handled quickly and with the guest's comfort as priority. That southern hospitality is what keeps us returning for many years. Rooms are comfortable and clean, beds sleep well (which I must have), continental breakfast is always abundant and refreshed with refills continuously (those sweet ladies are the best!), and the Tiki bar has been a delightful addition. Guitar player/entertainment there would be great most nights. Kids of all ages love the pools and whirlpool. Top floor rooms are the best and offer fabulous views of this very special place. We had always been major OBXers but OIB has all we need with easy and close proximity to more in either Myrtle Beach or Wilmington. Thank you Starla, Marnie & all the staff for making our stays so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and are eagerly awaiting your next visit! We sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We will definately consider your idea about having live music at the Tiki Bar. Thanks for suggesting this. Again, we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a nce property. Not fancy, but clean and comfortable. The ocean front rooms are worth the extra money for the view from the good-sized balcony. It's walking distance from the pier, putt-putt, a few shops, a restaurant/pub, and an ice cream shop. They have small refridgerators, microwave and coffee maker. The continental breakfast is very good with a large variety of foods including fresh fruit and microwaveable sausage biscuits for meat lovers. The only problem was there was only one waffle iron, and there was a long line for it every morning. They need another waffle iron! The indoor pool seemed clean, but the jacuzzi didn't get warm. It was cooler than the pool. The outdoor pool area was nice, and the Tiki Bar was open (yay!). There is a nice gazebo and the beach is large, beautiful, and not crowded. The first morning I realized the hair dryer didn't work and maintenance was at our room installing a new one less than five minutes after I called. There is only one elevator - in building two - and the buildings are connected by an open walkway. If you have walking or stair climbing issues, be sure to get building two or as close as possible. Parking is underneath, each building has two sets of stairs. I've stayed at Ocean Isle for the past 14 years, but previously in a condo with more family. It's a wonderful beach for relaxing and enjoying the ocean without the traffic and crowds of Myrtle. I wish The Islander Inn had efficiencies, but I guess you can't have everything.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terri_in_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed there last August and thought it was a great value and a very nice oceanfront hotel.Rooms were clean and had indoor/outdoor pools and indoor jacuzzi.Outdoor pool had a nice bar poolside and beach was not crowded and very laid back. Also included was hot/ cold continental breakfast.I would recommend the Islandr Ocean Isle, NC to anyone wanting to spend time relaxing.If you want to find some touristy things to do then Myrtle Beach is only 25 minutes south.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvilletraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here Easter weekend in an oceanfront room. We loved the location, the hotel is within walking distance of the pier, shops, etc. The oceanfront rooms are definitely worth the extra money, nice large balconies with great views of the beach. We saw several dolphins while we were swimming in the ocean. Love that we were able to take our dog, they only allow pets in building 7 which is nice if you do not have a pet. They also offer late check out for an additional fee which was perfect for us since we were there for only a long weekend. It gave us a chance to enjoy the beach one more time before we left.

Overall, for the price we paid, we would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank km18766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank your for spending Easter with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The room was clean and newly redecorated. Desk staff (Jessica and Carla) were very friendly and helpful. Rate was excellent and worth the money. We stayed the first weekend in April and although the weather did not cooperate, the staff sure did even bringing us a few extra towels because ours were used to dry off after a rainstorm. We had a oceanfront room with a nice sized balcony and the view was spectacular! Waking up to the dolphins popping in and out of the water was a special treat! Great beach access, beds were VERY comfortable and well made up. Breakfast is included and although the breakfast room is a bit crowded especially around the waffle machine, it was well stocked and ready each morning. Wonderful vacation and we will plan to return again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor don't get the noise from foot traffic above. Amazing views Oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandK-Windham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to beautiful Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
747 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,212 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
458 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: $67 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing