We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice

Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The finest and most flavorful Italian Ice arrived via Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice® in Brunswick County, North Carolina in January 2003. Sunset Slush® is known for its unique flavor and texture; there is nothing quite like it - it has been called "designer ice." It is smooth, nutritious, thirst-quenching, dairy-free, low in calories, cholesterol free, gluten free and refreshing.Italian Ice has become one of the fastest growing and most popular segments of the frozen dessert market. The uniqueness of our Super Premium Italian Ice and our passion for the business will make your trip to one of our stores, the beach pushcarts or event pushcarts the most enjoyable Italian Ice experience ever.Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice® offers 50 flavors (including our creative flavor combinations) in our stores and our Italian Ice is available in cups, pints, quarts, 1 gallon buckets and 2.5 gallon buckets. We also offer Gelatis at our stores - any flavor of Italian Ice mixed with vanilla bean or chocolate ice cream. Sunset Slush® is also available for your special event. However you choose to enjoy Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice®, we strive to make it an experience to remember.
1 review
“Awesome food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wife and I stopped and at this Sunset Slush, it's our favorite. We also like the one in Sunset Beach too. The ice was great as always but tonight we had agreat time. The owner Steven was there and we had a fun time talking to him about the different combinations he has come up with. Now, the single flavors are super, but he has come up with some great combinations. He let us try some of the different combos and they are excellent. As I said, all the flavors are great but try the new Pina Colada. You won't be disapointed with any flavor you choose.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    26
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a must stop in Ocean Isle. Loved every spoon full!! It was the perfect finish to a perfect night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Itallian Ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I think this is a franchise, since there are several in the area. MANY flavors to choose from. A small cup is $3. No inside seating (because of some licensing issue at this location) but a good amount of outside seating with comfortable rocking chairs on the front porch and umbrella-covered tables around the parking area.. We enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nicest folks at OIB and the best way to cool off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We pulled into the Sunset Slush parking lot, sweaty, hot and tired from a round of mini golf. at 10:10 on a Thursday night. Only a few lights were still on and the owner Stephen was hosing off the patio. We rolled down a window and asked, are you closed? Yes, but come on in, I'll fix you up! What a nice man. He went back in, turned on the lights and served us the coolest, creamiest, most yummy Italian ices we have ever tasted. He suggested flavors for the five kids we had with us, served us with a big smile and kindness we did not encounter anywhere else on our trip.

We returned the following night as our last stop before leaving the coast. Stephen and Catherine (his wife) remembered us from the night before, and were friendly, funny and super patient with the children trying to decide how to fill their prized koozies. The ice was delicious, smooth, creamy and bursting with flavor. We sat on the front porch in the comfy rocking chairs and enjoyed every bite. We cannot wait to come back next summer. Thanks Stephen and Catherine, you are the best!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Italian Ices - NY STYLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Best Italian ices I've found since leaving NY. More flavors than I've ever seen and their Gelati, YUM!! Lines are sometimes long, but they move quickly and it's always worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing