We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Winery!!”

Silver Coast Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Silver Coast Winery is a family owned and operated winery that produces International Award Winning Wines from Chardonnay to White Merlot and Cabernet. Have a wine tasting and browse our art gallery and gift shop. Enjoy a glass of wine while rocking the day away in the rocking chairs on the front porch. Silver Coast offers tours and tastings daily. Come learn about the winemaking process!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Winery!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Decided since the rain was going to keep us off the beach we might as well take advantage and check out a local winery. About a 15-20 minute drive from Ocean Isle. Location is very calming.

The gentleman who did our wine tasting was quite knowledgeable and personable.

Ended up buying a case of their wine. Need I say more?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddissent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice break from the beach, not what you expect in eastern NC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A nice little winery about 20 minutes from Ocean Isle Beach, tucked away among the tobacco fields. It's fun to visit when you've had enough of the beach for a little while. Helpful staff, got us set up at the wine tasting bar in about five minutes. While they've won some prestigious awards, the wine we were looking for had been sold out, and although they buy their grapes, most of what we tasted just doesn't compare to California wines. The tasting cost $20 per person, but we got one tasting free because we bought a few bottles (white merlot was interesting), and they gave us our tasting glasses (making it easier to drink the wine while in the hotel room!). Worth a visit, but not suitable for children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobinL270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is not your typical Napa Valley winery, but a fun place to visit. Out in a remote area. Neat souvenier shop and decent wine and wine tastings. You won't need more than one hour for a visit to the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BOBOIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Place I look forward to visiting year after year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I first visited this winery in 2007. I vacation in Sunset Beach yearly at this point and very much look forward to visiting my favorite winery. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the wine is delicious and different, and they support local artists. A must-do on your next trip to Sunset Beach!! Love!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adulaj425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth wasting your Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here while staying in Wilmington. The guy who handled our wine tasting wasn't that great. He was kind of dull. You get to taste 5 wines for $6.00. Typical wine - nothing outstanding. If you have nothing else to do while you're in the area, then stop by. Interesting to find out that they import their grapes. I always thought that a winery was a place that grew grapes and made wine. The visit was okay but nothing exciting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Coast Winery also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Silver Coast Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing