We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement in Ocean Ridge Plantation”

Ocean Ridge Plantation
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This resort and residential complex features the four legendary "Big Cats" Courses - Panther's Run, Lion's Paw, Tiger's Eye and Leopard's Chase - each of which has won world-wide critical acclaim and is renowned for their dramatic design features and challenging level of play. Come Chase Birdies with The Big Cats Today!
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Retirement in Ocean Ridge Plantation”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We found the closest thing to paradise when we built our home here 3 year's ago. We are 3 miles from sunset beach where our community has a beautiful beach club. Our plantation club has both indoor and outdoor pools plus workout room. We own a boat which we keep 10 miles away on the intracoastal waterway. If we need a big city both Myrtle Beach SC and Wilmington NC are both an easy drive. We don't play golf but have 4 courses in case visitors want to play. We like to travel but the best part of every trip is returning home to Ocean Ridge!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jujy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place to relocate from New Jersey seven years ago and traveled most of the east coast in pursuit of a new life new the ocean. Three days after we found/visited Ocean Ridge, we purchased a lot and began construction. The area is one of the best on the east coast and our move to Ocean Ridge was the best decision we could have made. Ocean Ridge is a gated golf community with the friendliest people in the world. It includes all the amenities you could ask for including a house on the ocean front in the town of Sunset Beach to have direct access to the ocean. Unlike many golf communities on the east coast, Ocean Ridge Plantation is well managed by the home owners and has the financial resources to insure the stability of the community.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank wayneh850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tiger's Eye excellent”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Tiger's Eye by far the best course. Fast greens although a little beat up. Great layout. Really hard par 3's. Panthers Run was fine, Lions Paw had so many doglegs. Played all 4 courses for $200. Leopard Chase and Tiger's Eye are great. Wouldn't play the other 2 again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A premier community”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ocean Ridge is one of the premier communities in Brunswick County. It has only upscale single family homes, an indoor and outdoor pool, tennis courts, a workout room, four golf course plus one under construction. There are oodles of activities to participate in for those so interested.

It took a hit in the real estate bust a few years ago, but is doing pretty well again. There are lots of homes under construction, but the best deals are on resale homes and lots.

I suggest that in order to get the full picture you talk with a real estate agent who works for the community as well as one who works outside the gates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sokoloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Cat Courses”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good choice for golf at the beach. Discount with the Coastal Vacation Resorts key is nice and well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Ridge Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Ridge Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing