We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone loved it here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Everyone loved it here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a party of six with very different tastes. Some of us had never had Jamaican cuisine before. We had ribs, shrimp, tuna, chicken, pork, and even GOAT! It was all delicious. The guy who owns it is actually Jamaican. This is a favorite of locals in a tourist town and it's always packed so get there early. They are open on Sundays even though some internet info says they're closed on Sundays. The food AND the service were excellent! We loved it here and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jolianne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    110
    39
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing second experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My extended family visited this restaurant during the last week of June to celebrate my parent's 60 th wedding anniversary. We had a great experience here in 2013 (and I gave the restaurant a 5 star rating last year). Alas, the 2014 experience was not nearly as positive. The live music we heard in 2013 did not occur - I guess they only play it on weekends now. Stripped of good live music, we were left to ponder the food. The pork was very dry and everything seemed overpriced. The ribs and shrimp were good but not enough to justify the price. It took us nearly an hour just to get our appetizers. The magic we experienced in 2013 was totally gone and we will not return to this establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pfm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Ocean Isle Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family discovered Sugar Shack a couple of years ago while vacationing at Ocean Isle- now it is a must each time we visit Ocean Isle. The food is fabulous and the atmosphere is fun. You might want to call ahead for reservations, because it does get crowded!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs, and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Authentic Jamacian food in an upbeat, funky, cool atmosphere. Bright colors and friendly staff add to the ambience. The food is fabulous. The ribs, are by far, some of the best I have ever tasted, as well as the side dishes. Way too much food for one person to eat. I suggest splitting a meal with whoever you bring. Fun dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank midwestscubagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“So glad we finally tried the Sugar Shack!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our fourth trip to Ocean Isle Beach and each time I'd wanted to go to the Sugar Shack. I was concerned my family wouldn't like Jamaican and I couldn't really describe it to them. Well, everyone found something they really liked. My son had a hamburger and enjoyed it. My wife and daughter had the ribs and they were great. They were a little pricey for the amount served but they were very, very good. I had the coconut shrimp and they were great. They serve a dozen and they are prepared to perfection!!! The rice and slaw are awesome. Everyone agreed that we should come back ever year.

The service was wonderful. We made a reservation and were seated right on time. The place is super clean and well decorated. The servers were on top of everything and the food was served in a reasonable time considering this isn't a fast food restaurant!!!

So, highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wacntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing