We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great service”
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food, great service”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Beautiful view, food was delicous, very friendly staff, friend had fish of day, soup excellent, my chicken over pasta was very filling

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyolsommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    111
    41
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Jamaican food !”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We can't say enough good things about the sugar shack- food is excellent- service is outstanding. 5 stars totally.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixieb1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic dining experience. Food was great, waiter was very good at explaining what Jamician food really is. Johnny bread is the best. Great experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“2nd time not as good”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The 1st time we went to the Sugar Shack we were pleased with our food, I am a vegetarian so I had the vegetable plate (steamed mixed vegetables, rice & beans, yam & slaw) there was alot of it and it was good. My husband got the red snapper and like it alot. We decided to go back a few days later and I again got the vegetable plate and it was good. My husband decided to try the crab fritters w/ lime salsa. He said the fritters were doughy with not much crab and the "salsa' was lime water in a bowl with a few pieces of lime zest and a litte sugar. No chunky salsa like you would have expected. No refill on drinks, service not that great. Granted they push their ribs but we don't eat that so they may be worth it. It is pretty pricey, vegetarian plate was $15 and crab fritters $23 plus drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
392 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Love the food and the entire dining experience. Only problem is that it is a bear to get in during the tourist season. Best steak in our area. My only complaint is that sometimes the reggae music gets a little tedious. It's okay for a while, but then gets old and it's difficult to converse over. Very good coconut shrimp and ribs. Wish they served hard liquor...that would complete the experience. Good and fun waitstaff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing