We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place”
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Food very good, service excellent, just takes some time. Friendly wait staff. Will definitely be going back next year..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    111
    41
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently drove from MB to OIB to this restaurant. It is one of our favorites when we have been at OIB. We were pleasantly surprised to see the renovations to the restaurant. The food as always was excellent. We love the ribs. We were disappointed to see how much the prices had gone up since the earlier year when we were there in the summer. I know everything costs more but we just weren't sure it was worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vavisitor696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eat more goat!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I have wanted to try this place for quite a sometime and it was worth the wait. The food was excellent, entree prices were around 20-25 dollars, and there was an abundance of food for the money. You are served Johnny bread before any food arrives & this is is best described as a light, cake-like, spiced cornbread. Then we tried the Curried goat appetizer (cost around $10) and it was yummy with enough to be a meal in itself. They have a great hot sauce too! The main course for both of us was ribs and shrimp - one chose grilled shrimp and the other had coconut. Two sides came with the meal so one chose curried rice and the other had red beans with white rice and both had the slaw. There were two other choices available for an extra charge. A small Red Stripe beer costs around $8 and sweet tea was good. We finished the meal off by having coffee and splitting a slice of mango cheesecake with raspberry sauce. I'll be dreaming about that cheesecake for awhile! There are many other options available on the menu and you can find it on Urban Spoon's website. Our final total was $81.00, more than the two of us have ever spent on a meal, but it was worth the money. You will definitely have leftovers for later. Our waiter George was very friendly and helpful in choosing what to order since it was our first visit. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindersaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“The best tuna anywhere!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Atmosphere is always fun and food is authentic Caribbean Jerk style. Yummy. Tuna steaks, as well as beef steaks, are huge and delicious. The owners are friendly and make you feel welcome and appreciated. Love this place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ComfortNC078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Didn't have reservations for a Saturday night but only had to wait about 20 minutes. Ribs are excellent, crab soup delicious, the Tuna got rave reviews too. Noise level was pretty high. Not the place for a quiet evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing