We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp & Beer”

The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Isles, the area's only oceanfront restaurant and Tiki bar, proudly features fine cuisine using only the freshest regional ingredients. From private romantic dinners and family gatherings to banquets, wedding receptions, and corporate events, our serene atmosphere comfortably provides the perfect ambiance for all of your dining needs.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shrimp & Beer”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

After reading several reviews, we decided to visit the Isles anyway for a late afternoon lunch. Even on a windy, rainy afternoon, the bar area offered some shelter and a view of the churning ocean. Our peel & eat shrimp were hot and fresh. I'm a fan of coconut shrimp, and I wasn't disappointed. Watch yourself, though, because you can run up an expensive bar tab fast!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCProfesora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are so delighted that you enjoyed our "Shrimp and Beer" and your time with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. We do hope that you will visit us again sometime. Again, thank you so much for your kind words!
Warmest Regards
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    94
    47
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best on the Beach”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate here one night on our two-night trip to Ocean Isle Beach. The food was good though the "filet" of fish was disappointingly boney. We sat out on the deck which gives a good view of the ocean. The inside seating looked quite appealing, also. Service was good and prices were surprisingly reasonable given the location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rudeman_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. We hope that you will visit us again sometime soon. Again, thank you so much for your kind words!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner and Wedding”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had our June 2013 rehearsal dinner, wedding, and reception at the Isles. Everything was amazing. The food was so good for both the rehearsal dinner (plated) and the reception (buffet). Marnie is the nicest and most helpful person on the planet! Our guests went on and on about how beautiful everything was and how good the food was. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We are so grateful that we had the opportunity to work with you and your family. It has truly been our pleasure and we wish you a lifetime of love and happiness!
With every good wish,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our family went here for dinner on our last night of a week long vacation in OIB. We were seated in a corner away from everyone and the staff seemed to forget we were there. It took about 15 minutes before we were greeted and asked for our drink order. Food was unimpressive. My husband had the shrimp scampi and said it was "okay - not great". I had the broiled seafood platter and found it inedible. It had no butter, salt, pepper, etc. The fish and scallops tasted like they had been rinsed in water and broiled...very bland. That being said, the hush puppies were delicious (and the only thing I ate!). Kids meals were average...no complaints. With so many great seafood restaurants in the area, we will not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. It is only with feedback such as yours that we can grow. We are truly disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and that your experience with the Isles was less than satisfactory. We also regret that were not able to correct the situation during your time with us. We do hope you will give us another chance on a future visit to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Welcome Dinner”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had the welcome dinner for our destination wedding at The Isles! It was wonderful! We had about 50 guests and Marnie took such good care of us. The food, drinks, and location were perfect! We were in a semi-private room and it was plenty private for our dinner. We could not have asked for a better experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We are very grateful that we had the opportunity to work with you and your family. It has truly been our pleasure and we do hope we have the privilege to serve you again!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing