We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Tiki Bar”

The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Isles, the area's only oceanfront restaurant and Tiki bar, proudly features fine cuisine using only the freshest regional ingredients. From private romantic dinners and family gatherings to banquets, wedding receptions, and corporate events, our serene atmosphere comfortably provides the perfect ambiance for all of your dining needs.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love the Tiki Bar”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I've always liked this place. Since I've been going to Ocean Isle Beach this place has had several owners. The food has always been good, regardless of the management. The view is the ocean, so it is fun and relaxing. It's fun to talk to the bartenders at the Tiki Bar. They are always pleasant and interesting. I like this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. We are so delighted that you always enjoy our staff, food and view at the Tiki. Again, thank you so much for your feedback and your patronage!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    95
    48
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Refuse to serve at tiki bar”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have a beach house on ocean isle so we are there most weekends and we have been to the isle restaurant on several occasions. But no more!! We went to the tiki bar for drinks and a light meal and were told they could not serve us because they were serving a wedding. There was plenty of space and the actual wedding reception was in a separate room. I found this to be totally ridiculous that they would close the entire bar area because of a wedding. Sounds like very poor management to me. I understand that the wedding could rent space for the reception and a bar could be set up for them but to close public spaces is unacceptable. We are customers in the off season when customers are few but I guess we will find somewhere else!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so sorry that we did not have immediate seating available at the Tiki Bar due to a private function the evening that you visited. We tried our best to accommodate you at an oceanfront table near the bar and were so sorry that you did not find this arrangement to be suitable. We always strive to accommodate everyone's wishes and do hate when any guest leaves unhappy. Thank you for providing this feedback as it is only with feedback such as yours that we can grow. We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Sit Outside”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were in Ocean Isle Beach for a family wedding. Thursday was rehearsal, Friday the wedding and Saturday was a night we needed to eat out with 14 people. The Isles took reservations so we decided to give it a try. We expected a long dining experience because of the size of our party but the service was remarkably good. The portions were great. We had many take-out boxes. Almost everyone had the seafood. It was good and the She Crab soup was to die for. We didn't find the prices outrageous. After all we were at the beach! Our only complaint.....it was chilly sitting outside and were right near some lovely ladies at the outside bar having a good time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn0265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, service and food. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and very much look forward to hopefully having the privilege to serve you again!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner, were seated after being asked if had reservation although nothing states this is needed. Were seated and seemed to be forgotten, service was mediocre, prices were ridiculous! 24 dollars for a new York strip and that was the only steak. Ended up buying off of the appetizer section because the menu was sky high 25, 30, 35, 40 dollars for a meal is ridiculous! Never ever going back crazy ridiculous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachbumlawncare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. We are sorry to hear that you thought our prices were unreasonable (i.e., NY Strip). We do offer quality Certified Angus beef and try to keep our prices competitive. It is only with feedback such as yours that we can grow. We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about, not for a real "foodie".”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This place was generic, nothing spectacular. We ordered the crab dip, which was good. The house salad was pretty basic and the dressing did not taste homemade. It was served with the same old white rolls.....I ordered the fresh catch and my mahi mahi was really yummy, served with basic carrots and a tomato type of rice, both average. Served small portions on giant plates, we were done pretty fast. Child got kids macaroni served almost cold and runny. Overall it wasn't bad per say, but we will probably try elsewhere next time. Our bill was over $100 after tip, but was more like a $50 dollar meal. Off topic of food, the building was set up so strange, just huge in the front with a ton of wasted space....not an intimate setting. Better luck next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ripple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. It is only with feedback such as yours that we can grow. We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to The Isles Restaurant & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing