We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Crest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayeded in late October and it was a delightful getaway. The room was comfortable and clean. The view from the balcony was great and we could see the pier. Very easy access to the beach. The staff was great. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had second floor balcony and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    63
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
77
86
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ocean Crest for two weekend nights in November, 2012 for our anniversary. We had not been back to Oak Island (Long Beach back then) in about 15 years or so. We used to bring our boys here every summer. Much had grown up but also much was the same, namely the great views of the ocean. The very best thing about Oak Island is that it faces south rather than east, so in the winter months you can see both the sunrise and the sunset from your balcony. Not many places can claim that. First time at the Ocean Crest and we were pleased. It is an older hotel but clean and has been maintained. The staff were friendly. One caution--remember to ask for soap, coffee for room, etc. when you check in. Not automatically put in rooms. Their ad did not mention internet access, but we were pleasantly surprised to find it available. One drawback was that the a/c unit runs constantly with the fan blowing onto the bed. We would stay again, especially in winter months with the lower rates.

Room Tip: The private balcony rooms are worth the extra charge for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_1973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We always stay at Ocean Crest during our annual family reunion on Oak Island. Many other family members have stayed as well. Friendly people, great service! Reasonable rates for a place right on the beach and next to a fishing pier. Rooms are furnished nicely and comfortably. Love the view from the private balcony. Will stay again soon. The folks in the room next to ours drove all the way from Indiana. They loved it.

Room Tip: This place is especially nice for those who's main interest is the beach--swimming or fishing. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Ocean Crest Motel is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are clean, neat, and the beds are comfortable. The staff is very helpful and take great care of you. In addition, they have a little gift shop in the office and the motel is located right beside the BEST fishing pier in North Carolina (The Ocean Crest Pier). We love the Ocean Crest Motel, and will continue to stay here for many years to come!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thektrainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want to experience the beach the way it was before it was ruined by being overbuilt and too commercial--this the place. It's not fancy, but talk about location, location, location.

If you love walking the beach and fishing--it's right next door to a fishing pier. You can walk for miles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a quick visit to Oat Island in late August. Oak Island is one of NC's gems. The motel staff was just wonderful. I had never stayed at this property before, but I made to feel welcomed. I booked an ocean front room, something I rarely do, but it was great. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The room came with a small frig and a coffee pot which were nice additions. I must agree with a previous reviewer in that the a/c unit does make a bit of noise. It is basically a window type unit built into the wall. It did provide cool air. The location is great--about in the middle of the island. I would stay at this property again, but I probably won't pay extra to be ocean side. The only thing wrong with the entire weekend was that it rained at night, and I decided not to get soaking wet trying to find turtles hatching.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jah857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The view is what makes this motel. Stepped out of our room to walk the beach. Bed was squeaky and room was small but everything was clean. Best to get a room facing the ocean as we kept the window open and heard ocean waves all night, but you can't go wrong with any of the rooms. Right next to a pier and some good restaurants. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CindySGoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
16.9 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
17.0 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Property: Ocean Crest Motel
Address: 1417 E Beach Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465-6557
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach providing a unique location on Oak Island and the area. Your choice of 3 room types at fair rates. Stay for 7-Only pay for 5 night special year round. Ask about our awesome oceanfront Townhouse that sleeps 8 persons! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Oak Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing