We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Crest Motel
Nearby Hotels
$87
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Southport)(Great Value!)
$144
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
125
69
27
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
69
27
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyocean frontfishing pierroom was cleanoceanfront roomoff seasonsmall poolmini fridgeyellow buildingbeach houselast minute tripcoffee makerbeach vacationfamily vacationfirst floorgreat roomshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 243 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

When we stayed the first time in june 2011 we werent overly impressed but reallt liked the locations. We went back for a second trip may 2012 and brought home bed bugs! And when asked why they sodnt notify people they said because it would have been bad advertisement! Dont go. It isnt worth the thousands of dollars youll have to spend to rid your house of bed bugs

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicecustomer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Customer stayed here May 4, 2012. She called us July 3, 2012 and said she has bed bugs (2 months later) and must have gotten them 2 months ago from us. On May 4th we had no problems at all. On May 25 we were advised by another customer, that there was a problem in another building (150 ft away) in two rooms. We took the entire building down (20 rooms), inspected and treated all rooms in that building and had building tested (trained canine) every other day for 10 days before bringing it back up for rentals. At the same time we had our other two buildings inspected and tested (trained canine) and found no problems in the building she stayed in or the other one. At no time was she told we do not tell customers because of "bad advertising" . We would never rent any room with bed bugs. She was advised of the true situation but refuses to accept they must have come from some place else. Bed bugs are a very serious situation throughout the United States. They can be spread from motels, day care centers, schools, offices (furniture) or brushing up against someone who has come in contact with them from any location. We take this issue very seriously and will continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wife & I stayed at the Ocean Crest and would not recommend. Very small room, old furnishings and NOT clean. In my opinion it is a DUMP.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

I would love to discuss this with the customer, however we cannot find any record he stayed here with the info available. At no time have we been told of any problem with cleanliness without responding immediately. We pride ourselves on all the positive comments we receive daily about how clean the rooms are. However, if we missed something we will fix it.
Some of our furnishings are "dated" and we are working on resolving this. On July 1 we replaced all our mattresses and bedframes. We are currently looking at eliminating the bedspreads and moving to "triple sheeting" similar to what is found in Hyatts and Hiltons. Last year we installed all new 26" LCD flat screen TVs. We are striving to make our customer's stay even more enjoyable everyday. Please, if you stay with us and have a problem, let us know in person. We are always looking for ways we can improve our motel. However,we cannot fix problems which are not brought to our attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I'm politely using the term "quaint" to describe "old". I felt like I had stepped back a couple of decades when we walked in. It was nothing fancy, the furnishings were definitely dated, and very eclectic, but at least the room was clean. If you are looking for deluxe accomodations, this didn't strike me as that kind of place. It's about as basic as you can get, as there wasn't even a bar of soap or shampoo in the room. On the other hand, the staff was friendly and helpful, pointing out a few things to do while we were in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WanderingPencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed here over 10 years, for fishing ,when family came from Wisconsin,for vacations. This has always been our choice,having the pier to walk on or fish from. Our rooms have always been clean. Nothing fancy,but very comfortable. We will continue to go there any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The room was clean, but also very outdated. The beds were horribly uncomfortable. The pillows were great. The shower turned blistering hot to ice cold depending on who was running water or flushing a toilet at the time. There is no microwave. There is coffee in the room, but you have to go to the lobby for cream and sugar. I had a first-floor room and I heard every move the renter above me made, and believe me, they did a lot of walking around to all hours of the night. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep. The only really good thing I have to stay about this place is it is next door to a pier and a fabulous restaurant, the view from the room is awesome and it's proximity to the beach. That's about it. Not sure if I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews