We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BlueWater Point Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueWater Point Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Mocksville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My college roommates and their families joined my family for a special vacation together. The place was not new but very clean! The staff was kind and helpful. We suggest asking for top floor on the back side for a beautiful peaceful water view! We plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luwonna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is an older motel at the far end of Oak Island. We paid $99 per night for 3 nights, Tues, Wed, Thurs in August. The room was fine and the staff were very helpful. Next time, I would get a room on the second floor as you can hear the people walking around upstairs if you stay on the first floor. If you are looking for an inexpensive basic motel room close to the beach and a marina, then this is the place for you. It met all our family needs. We stayed there with another family, so there were 3 adults and 7 children in our group, and we all enjoyed our stay there - no complaints. Yes, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. If you get a room on the lower level, you can hear the guests above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed from July 8th to the 12th and had a great time. Quite and friendly. Very neighborly. Planning to go back in September. Took the ferry from Southport to Fort Fisher. Good half day trip. Want to do the ferry to Bald Head Island next trip. Close enough to many enjoyable sites to visit. Really excellent time. Restaurant was convenient and food was very tasty and reasonably priced. Could do with a couple of inexpensive amenities in the bath and it would be close to perfect. Rooms were comfortable and over-sized. no problem feeling overcrowded. All together a solid "A".

Room Tip: Corner room, north side, top floor...step out of the room and have a view of the inlet water way &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The motel was clean and comfortable. It is a older motel but met all our family's needs. The staff was friendly the atmosphere very family oriented. I hope to stay there again. If you are going to enjoy the beach and outdoor attractions you have easy access. The pool was small but never crowded and I liked the fact it was not over 4 ft deep if you have younger children this is a plus. View was wonderful in the mornings. It was quiet and safe place to vacation.

Room Tip: You will want to stay on the second floor for the view. Also, bring a hair dryer it is not provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuneycutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

DON'T STAY HERE!

If you want to have a good vacation, please do not stay here. This place is disgusting and it has cockroaches which they try to say are Palmetto bugs. We woke up with them inside a closed bathroom but they are trying to say they flew in. They weren't there last night. I'm a Science teacher... They can't try to pull one over on me.

They are currently in the process of refusing to refund us for the night we stayed AND the nights we haven't even stayed yet!!

Then one of the owners proceeded to argue with me from the lower level in the yard (after trying to get ahold of them for over an hour) and tell me that they spray every month and that I was wrong. I stayed professional and he immediately became RUDE. I've never had such terrible service at a place I paid over 100$
a night for!!

So disappointing. This place has a wonderful location but it just isn't worth getting bugs for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travalinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaring Gap, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The rooms (beds!) leave a bit to be desired, but the location is wonderful. Near the west end of Oak Island, you can see the Sunrise from one side of the building, and Sunset from the other, both over water. There are in-room refrigerators, microwaves, and table and chairs, which makes it very easy to eat in,and there's a small snack and fishing shop and very popular restaurant on site, too. There is a dock you can walk out onto, and the Motel can book you a sunset or daytime boat cruise (Ask for Captain Martin.). There is a pretty nice pool, but t's just a city block to the Beach. One problem I've noticed is a lot of cigarette smokers around, including the very friendly characters that work there. Those so inclined, can fish right off the east end wall. The rates are exceptionally low for such a great beach. We stayed there a couple of times while looking for a house to buy, which we did.

Room Tip: The Sunrise is gorgeous from the rooms on the east side, but that's also where a lot of people s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. We stayed in the back second floor facing the sound. Very pretty views of the sound and sunrises. The room was large and clean. Everything was old fashioned and slightly worn. The pillows and bed were clean, soft, and very comfortable. We had a mini fridge, coffee pot, and microwave (something a nicer hotel in the area seemed to forget). The tv was a newer flat screen mounted on the wall. Every room comes with two full/queen beds. The hotel is a block away from the beach. There is a nice boardwalk going from the hotel to the beach. There is also a small shallow pool available for those who prefer their children there. The maid was available everyday and made sure we didn't need anything. The restaurant next door is always crowded for dinner and the staff and food are wonderful. I wasn't pleased with the Fish House the first time around but the second time it was wonderful and our waitress was super sweet and accommodating. You can watch the fishing boats, kayakers, fisherman, and wildlife from your room(or my room you could). If you are lucky, you may see dolphins playing like we did. :) The only suggestion I have is making some minor repairs on the normal wear and tear.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room you have better views also a room on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenNRob626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
13.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
13.2 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
19.6 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueWater Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueWater Point Motel

Property: BlueWater Point Motel
Address: West Beach Drive to 57th Place, Oak Island, NC 28465
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Blue Water Point Hotel Oak Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing