We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best of stays...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueWater Point Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The best part of our stay was being within walking distance to the beach. The hotel is in a good location, and the front desk staff were very nice. The beach on Oak Island is beautiful and the waves were big enough to surf on. The Blue Water Point Motel was fine for a short stay but the rooms were not nice at all compared to other hotels (I travel a lot and stay in upscale hotels like Marriott Marquis etc...). Although the motel was clean and the housekeeping service did a good job stocking our room with towels and making the beds, the air conditioner was quite loud running all night and smelled moldy/musty. Our room had a nice view of the intercoastal waterway but it was hard to sleep as the curtains did not keep out the morning light and the mattresses were very old. The pillows were covered in plastic allergen covers but the mattresses were not. The area is quiet but the room itself was loud with people passing by in the outdoor corridor and walking in the next room over. It would be better to stay in a nice beach house on Oak Island as our room was around $100/night and this seemed overpriced for the quality. There are very few restaurants on the island and the ones we visited were poor, serving frozen onion rings and on plastic dinnerware for example. If you are used to staying in nicer hotels, you would prefer renting a beach house on Oak Island. We were only there for a few nights and this was our best option for its location, but we will likely never come back to Oak Island as there is not much to do other than go to the beach-we were there for a wedding and we found the island location to be quite remote and lacking dining options. There are fishing excursions and the beach is beautiful but the overall impression of the island itself was average.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel, stay in an room on the second level to avoid noise from above.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for BlueWater Point Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

MOTEL: We have came yearly for the last 4 years, and it is the ONLY place we like to stay. The motel is what you would expect from a older "beach motel". Aged, and a little worn. BUT it is clean, and the location is just PERFECT! My husband loves that he can fish just mere steps from the room, also, the beach is a pleasant very short walk which is great for me and my 2 year old son (and asll of his stuff). The staff are super friendly, and we always feel like we are coming home when we visit. If you have not stayed at BWP, you really should. You won't regret it.

FISH HOUSE: The restaurant is delish too, but I did not like all of the guys outside "flirting"... Won't go near it without my husband and you probably shouldn't either :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My sister and I hit the road on a spur of the moment trip. We wanted to stick our toes in the ocean. Well, I found Blue Water Point Motel on tripadvisor. I read the reviews, it sounded good. Well, it was better than good !!! Sid really took care of us and soon as we walked into the marina ship store. A room was made ready, it was clean and comfortable. Only 300 steps to the beach. Oak Island, NC is small, quite, peaceful, and perfect for de-stressing. I know we will return soon.

Room Tip: No bad views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kl5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place hasn't changed much since I was a kid, and thats a great thing to me. Our Saturday night stay at Blue Water Point after a few days in a very nice ocean front house down the street was just as nice. Check in was easy, room was clean and comfortable had eveything you would need. Easy access to the beach just a short walk across the street, everyone including the great staff seemed to be cery nice and laid back i think the place and the weather just put people at ease. On the property was the Fish House rest. which is always packed on a Saturday for good reason, the food is great and outside while you wait was live music and kids playing in the court yard which is waterfront. Blue Water Point is a fantastic throwback kind of place, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!! I wish more place like this were still around!

Room Tip: the sound\waterway side ( East facing) provides a great sunrise and shade in the afternoons.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are staying right now at Blue point and LOVE it! If you are looking for a quiet,nice,clean hotel at a good price this is the one!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just came back from our weekend family getaway in Oak Island, NC...this was actually our second visit in 3 months:)..the rates and service are great. Access to the beach is across the street and the motel is located on the better side of Oak Island(that's just our opinion).

Definitely staying again...soon!



Christopher and Venessa H

Room Tip: we found that the wi-fi works better when your room is located in the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I have a website called East Coast Boating Adventures.com We travel towing our boat looking for interesting places to visit. Blue water Point Motel was just what we were looking for. A clean place to stay that offered everything we needed for our stay. It was so nice to be able to put the boat in and keep it in the water right where we stayed. It is also very closed to the Intercoastal Waterway which is great for getting to Southport and BaldHead Island by boat.

We will deffinately be staying here again when traveling to this area. Check out our website for more information and photos .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
734 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
539 reviews
13.2 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueWater Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueWater Point Motel

Address: West Beach Drive to 57th Place, Oak Island, NC 28465
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Blue Water Point Hotel Oak Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing