We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Retreat !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BlueWater Point Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueWater Point Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My sister and I hit the road on a spur of the moment trip. We wanted to stick our toes in the ocean. Well, I found Blue Water Point Motel on tripadvisor. I read the reviews, it sounded good. Well, it was better than good !!! Sid really took care of us and soon as we walked into the marina ship store. A room was made ready, it was clean and comfortable. Only 300 steps to the beach. Oak Island, NC is small, quite, peaceful, and perfect for de-stressing. I know we will return soon.

Room Tip: No bad views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kl5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place hasn't changed much since I was a kid, and thats a great thing to me. Our Saturday night stay at Blue Water Point after a few days in a very nice ocean front house down the street was just as nice. Check in was easy, room was clean and comfortable had eveything you would need. Easy access to the beach just a short walk across the street, everyone including the great staff seemed to be cery nice and laid back i think the place and the weather just put people at ease. On the property was the Fish House rest. which is always packed on a Saturday for good reason, the food is great and outside while you wait was live music and kids playing in the court yard which is waterfront. Blue Water Point is a fantastic throwback kind of place, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!! I wish more place like this were still around!

Room Tip: the sound\waterway side ( East facing) provides a great sunrise and shade in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are staying right now at Blue point and LOVE it! If you are looking for a quiet,nice,clean hotel at a good price this is the one!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just came back from our weekend family getaway in Oak Island, NC...this was actually our second visit in 3 months:)..the rates and service are great. Access to the beach is across the street and the motel is located on the better side of Oak Island(that's just our opinion).

Definitely staying again...soon!



Christopher and Venessa H

Room Tip: we found that the wi-fi works better when your room is located in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I have a website called East Coast Boating Adventures.com We travel towing our boat looking for interesting places to visit. Blue water Point Motel was just what we were looking for. A clean place to stay that offered everything we needed for our stay. It was so nice to be able to put the boat in and keep it in the water right where we stayed. It is also very closed to the Intercoastal Waterway which is great for getting to Southport and BaldHead Island by boat.

We will deffinately be staying here again when traveling to this area. Check out our website for more information and photos .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I have been to BWP Motel twice now. There is a waklway from the motel to beach access directly across the street and the marina surrounds the motel property. The rooms are comfortable, pool is clean and the adjacent restaraunt has delicious seafood dinners. Did I mention the affordability and beach access!? The manager Sid is unbelievably accomodating and treated us like family.
Thanks a bunch!
Meghan

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at Blue Water last June. It was a spur of the moment "let's go to Oak Island for the weekend" deal and they had availability. Clearly this hotel isn't going to be a high class 5 star place, but it's good enough. The rooms were clean, the shower was hot, the ac was cold and the bed was comfortable. It's funky because the hotel is made to look like a house boat, which almost makes you feel like you're on a cruise ship. It's a short walk to the beach and in a good area. Can't beat that. I wouldn't want to stay here for a week trip, simply because I would want more room and a kitchen. But for a couple of nights? It's perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
13.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
13.2 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueWater Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueWater Point Motel

Property: BlueWater Point Motel
Address: West Beach Drive to 57th Place, Oak Island, NC 28465
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Blue Water Point Hotel Oak Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing