We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ICE cream.”
Review of Leaky Tiki Homemade Ice cream - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Leaky Tiki Homemade Ice cream
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ICE cream.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Homemade Ice Cream! Who wouldn't love that? I do, until I made my way to the Leaky Tiki.

Ice Cream .... They focus on the ice and not so much on the cream. Their servings, while generous, were thin in texture. There was very little in the way of creaminess, the part that makes ice cream so enjoyable.

I had the peach ice cream, and the peaches were definitely fresh. My son had mint chocolate chip, and said he had a hard time tasting the chocolate chips, and my wife did not care for her butter pecan, and it was primarily ice crystals with a few chopped pecans.

They do have a very nice deck with which to enjoy your treats on, Some evenings they even have karaoke. I wonder if the owners are seeking a specific niche market? I hope they find it soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelSPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    3
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best waffle cones on the island!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

There are a million ice cream spots in Oak Island and this one is by far the best! The girls behind the counter gave great service and were gracious to a rude customer who was in front of us in line. The ice cream tastes homemade and the waffle cones were seriously second to none!! I didn't ask, but they were thick ad delicious and I wouldn't be surprised if they were homemade. I loved everything but the neon paint :) a must-do!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"Great Ice Cream!"”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The home-made ice cream was very high quality and very fresh. We went there 2 out the three nights we were in Oak Island. An interesting feature is Karaoke, which was lots of fund even just listening to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great homemade ice cream”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great place for ice cream! Great place to take small kids for fun! We eat here every year we're here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's hard to find good ice cream, but we did here at the Leaky Tiki. We recommend that anyone visiting Oak Island stop by and try some

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaky Tiki Homemade Ice cream also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing