We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh my.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant

Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 58 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Pelican Seafood sells fresh LOCAL seafood as well as delicious lunches and dinners to eat in or take out. The owners work there and are very pleasant to chat with. I was so pleased to find their menu was a mix of Mediterranean and southern foods with homemade desserts like mamool. We purchased fresh fish and shellfish to cook ourselves and ate lunch there. I would love to write a review. Thank you. Traci Stevenson. tracisbold@gmail.com
nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“oh my.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

went with trip advisor reviews and we're not disappointed. having been in the car for 6 hours and not having breakfast or lunch, we stopped on our way to our rental and ordered an oyster sandwich and the oyster po'boy. WOW! I watched as the cook breaded the oysters, fried them, checked them for doneness and then played our order up. we started to head to the house to eat since the pelican is ONLY takeout but the oysters smelled so good, we ate in the cold at their picnic table. we ate so quickly the dip sandwiches didn't have time to get cold.....they were delicious! we plan on going back multiple times during our stay. will update on visit number 2.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blueridgeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york, pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We bought take out and were pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had been hungry for fried oysters for a loooong time and finally got them at Pelican. The oysters were breaded just right and tasted great! My boyfriend had the fried crab cake and was very pleased. The crab cake had no fillers. The prices aren't any higher than going to a chain seafood restaurant, but the food is 500 million times BETTER! I will definitely get seafood here again next year on our vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local Catch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything in the store was local and fresh and you can definitely taste it once you buy the seafood. Best seafood I would never go any where else

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

fresh food, good prices and friendly and knowledgeable staff. good place to go each time you visit the island

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great steamed shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We bought a pound of steamed shrimp from Pelican Seafood and it was very good! We would definitely buy from them again. They also have a great selection of other fish if you are not interested in shrimp.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing