We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood in town!”

Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 61 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: Lebanese, Seafood
Description: Pelican Seafood sells fresh LOCAL seafood as well as delicious lunches and dinners to eat in or take out. The owners work there and are very pleasant to chat with. I was so pleased to find their menu was a mix of Mediterranean and southern foods with homemade desserts like mamool. We purchased fresh fish and shellfish to cook ourselves and ate lunch there. I would love to write a review. Thank you. Traci Stevenson. tracisbold@gmail.com
Restaurant details
Description: Pelican Seafood sells fresh LOCAL seafood as well as delicious lunches and dinners to eat in or take out. The owners work there and are very pleasant to chat with. I was so pleased to find their menu was a mix of Mediterranean and southern foods with homemade desserts like mamool. We purchased fresh fish and shellfish to cook ourselves and ate lunch there. I would love to write a review. Thank you. Traci Stevenson. tracisbold@gmail.com
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in town!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The best place to go get seafood in all of Brunswick county. My family and I have been millions of times and never have we regretted it. The scallops are to die for and the steamed shrimp is perfectly cooked and delicious. They only do take out now so we take food out as well as get it fresh from the market. The people and owners are especially friendly and extremely helpful. The young lady there was also great at giving me recipes and how much food I would need. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best seafood”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Best seafood in the world . I used to go to other places and I would walk out because it stunk so bad.also Tony (the owner) is a very nice guy who always sells fresh product.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gungtryhhufthui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best scallops around”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

fresh seafood, best fried scallops in brunswick county! local favorite. they also sell market style seafood to take home and will give you hints on how to cook it. My wife loves the Baklava. Great choice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank charles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHPORT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Folks, Not the same ole thing”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Try the family recipes and if you are dying for a softshell crab po-boy - you have found the right place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sobaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy fresh seafood”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ordered fried shrimp, scallops, and flounder, as well as the crab cake. The fried seafood was very lightly breaded and delicious. The shrimp were a little overdone, but it might have steamed as we drove from the restaurant to our rental house. The scallops were perfectly cooked and juicy. The shrimp-scallops-flounder combo included two sea scallops, two good-sized flounder fillets, and a healthy portion of shrimp. The combos come with two sides; we liked the fried okra and the potato salad. They were out of hush puppies, or we'd have ordered those. Prices were good as well: The most expensive combo on the menu (shrimp, scallops, flounder, oysters, and soft-shell crab) was $25.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pelican Seafood Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing