We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, atmosphere, view, and Food!”
Review of Island Way

Island Way
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Oak Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining ocean front restaurant featuring steaks and seafood.
Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent service, atmosphere, view, and Food!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We visited Oak Island for a family & friends vacation, and chose this restaurant for our "Date Night". What a great choice! We made reservations that afternoon and did not have to wait when we arrived. We were well greeted and the service was friendly and professional. Although we were not at a window seat, we were up a few steps on a platform and had a beautiful view of the ocean and pier as we ate.

We started with the crab dip, wonderful - served with toast. I would have liked half toast, half bread for variety, but the bread came out next. The bread was also tasty. I ordered the Grouper Neptune and it was amazing - the asparagus was perfect, the crab, the shrimp, the sauce! My husband ordered the fried seafood platter with the pecan broccoli - I've never had such delicious broccoli. For dessert we shared a salted caramel vanilla crumble layered cake that was fantastic! We ordered an extra to take home to our friends. With drinks, appetizer, entrees, and desserts the bill came to about $100 - very reasonable for an extravagant night out at the beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    124
    36
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Last Night Out!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were looking for somewhere romantic and "fancy" for our last night and found a menu for Island Way in our condo. We checked it out and made a reservation. I definitely recommend making a reservation as this place was packed! We were sat almost immediately and had one of the best seats in the house. Overlooking the pier, we didn't even have time to pick up the wine list before we were welcomed by our friendly server Ally. We knew it was going to be a great dinner!

Drinks:
My pomegranate martini was one of the best I've ever had! I was mad that I drove to the restaurant because I also wanted to try the Lemon Drop martini. I'm sure it would have been divine. The Long Island Iced Tea was also delish. The drinks were reasonably priced ($8.00/tea, $8.25/martini).

Food:
For appetizers we opted for the Crab Dip and the Oysters Rockefeller. The oysters were HUGE and stuffed with ample amounts of bacon, spinach and cheese. They were absolutely delicious. The crab dip was even better! Though mixed with cream cheese, all you really tasted was crab. It comes with a house made crostini that was very complimentary to the warm gooey dip. As we ate our appetizers, Ally brought a bowl of warm bread over. YUM!

For dinner, we ordered the Lobster Double (twin 8 oz. lobster tails) and the filet mignon. I don't really know what to say other than OH MY GOODNESS. The filet was one of the most tender I have ever had and it was cooked PERFECTLY (med rare). I had the vegetable medley as my side and was extremely happy. They were seasoned perfectly and it was a great compliment to the rich bacon wrapped steak. The twin lobster tails were absolutely perfect. The green bean almandine was fresh and seasoned well. It was a light compliment to the rich buttery lobster. Overall, the food was absolutely spectacular. Our only disappointment is that we didn't save room for dessert!

Service/Atmosphere:
Ally was very friendly and attentive. She came over to the table frequently and kept our drinks flowing. All of the wait staff helped each other by bringing plates as they were done in the kitchen and/or cleaning tables. It was nice to not ever have to sit at a table surrounded by dirty, empty plates. The atmosphere is beautiful, but loud. You can't beat the view! As crowded as the restaurant gets, it was very loud. Though I wouldn't call this the most romantic restaurant on the island, I would say it's still a FANTASTIC date spot. Just plan on blocking out the noise around you and paying attention to your date.

Overall, this place gets an A+++. We will DEFINITELY be back when we visit the island next.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AChampagne37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Let Location Keep You Away!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I always eat at this restaurant when on the Island. At our arrival my friend ask if we were eating at the Pier. It is located beside the Pier but the restaurant has a great environment feel and the ocean view is great.

In our opinion the steak is the choice meal. The only steaks I have had to match what is presented at Island Way is from Ruth Chris. You don't need a steak knife even though we were given one. We had the steak and Island Way potatoes. It was wonderful.

For dessert we had the Key Lime Pie. It was refreshing and light which was great since we ate so much food. Yes, we did get a clean fork without asking. Perhaps when something like this happens it is because of a new sever. I am always extremely happy with the food and price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Alway my favorite, but missed some details this time”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have a vacation home on Oak Island NC. This is a perfect event/date night restaurant. My favorite....The Chef NEVER misses....Food is always excellent. Atmosphere is exceptional as it is directly on the ocean and next to the pier for an après dinner walk.

This past visit though, I was disappointed the for a $200 dinner for four the server did not know to provide fresh new utensils with each course. I even requested a new utensil for my entrée/desert and did not receive it. With such excellent pallets the servers at this level should know that. I had to wipe my entrée off my fork to eat my dessert. NOT COOL.

Still would go back over and over for the terrific, unique and creative chef.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThefactsOnly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, beautiful view”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

TIP: for oceanfront window seating, make a reservation a week in advance. Island Way, with white table cloths and attentive serving staff, seems a little more upscale than most of the restaurants on Oak Island. We called for a 7:30 reservation less than an hour before arriving, and they seated our party of three immediately upon arrival. (The reservation was a good idea, as the tables were continuously filled throughout our meal.) The server took plenty of time to tell us the specials and answer questions about the menu and food preparation. We all had entrees with filet mignon; my wife and I the combination with shrimp and crab ($$$$), our teen just the steak ($$$). The food was prepared perfectly and was delicious. There are plenty of seafood entrees on the menu, and several entrees are less than $20, so your meal need not be as expensive as ours was. There is an extensive wine list. Island Way has early dining specials and serves lunch. According to our server, outdoor seating is usually used for overflow but can be reserved. Our dinner was relaxing, and we never felt rushed, a pet peeve of mine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Way also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Island Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing