We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family atmosphere and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Island Restaurant

Oak Island Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 58 Restaurants in Oak Island
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tannersville, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great family atmosphere and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We ate at the Oak Island Restaurant on Sunday after church. There was a short wait. My husband's fish was just okay, but we both agreed my lemon-pepper grilled shrimp was delicious! They had excellent slaw. The hushpuppies were a little sweet, but good. My sons both had chicken strips and fries, which were very good. It was a very clean restaurant with friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twinsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    33
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They really do have the best fish on the island!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Perfectly fried, non-greasy fish with good slaw and country vegetables. We also had good service and prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaraD255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better get there at least 45 minutes before closing!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been there on 2 occurrences where we were there approximately 45 mins before closing and we were turned away one time and almost turned away the second time. The owners are a mother/daughter team, and when they get tired.....they don't care what time it is, They say 'closed'. The food is fairly good for fried seafood. The atmosphere is that of a small diner, not fancy at all. Not very clean inside either. We really just go for the food, but the staff is not friendly at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredibly tasty and an incredible value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lunch for me consisted of two huge perfectly fried flounder filets, okra, squash, coffee, and dessert. My wife had popcorn shrimp, okra, and a salad. I couldn’t finish the flounder so we took one of the filets home and had it for dinner. Only a Jackson for all of this, including tip. Amazing. It was enough to reel us back in for another lunch that was just as good the next day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

They bring you the wrong food and threaten to call the police when you say you will not pay for it and then tell you not to come back. Avoid at all costs. RUDE AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Island Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Oak Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing