We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homecooked food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christa's Country Corner

Christa's Country Corner
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Newland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homecooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Great stop for cyclist right off the blue ridge parkway. Homemade meat loaf sandwich on fresh baked bread, strawberry cobbler, breakfast sandwich with crispy bacon. Hit the spot! Friendly service too!

Helpful?
1 Thank wetommyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More of a store”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Food was ok but it is more of a store. There were a lot of animals around. That is fine but not exactly a good thing around food preparation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Like going to a relative's house, but someone who is a great coook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

They are really big on the hospitality, and the food is soooo good. I had a plate of ribs, cole slaw, and a roll, and what kind of took over from there was the cinnamon roll with cream cheese frosting. It was warm and wonderful. My wife and I shared one, and I wanted to buy us a couple more so we could have our own, but we both had our brains available, and stopped desert. Christa even excels in the selection of knick-knacks and incidental items for sale in her general store. My wife found some really nice "foot cream" that is awesome for winter dried hands. We were so glad that our cabin's owner recommended this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tomcat5470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are in the Linville Falls area, you have to stop here. The food is all awesome, cooked daily by Christa. And, the food is only slightly better than the amazing service and hospitality. We had a big family stop today, so we sampled a little bit of everything. The smoked chicken sandwich was probably the best, but the chicken & rice soup, chili, desserts, etc. were all very, very tasty. Whatever sandwich you choose, it has to be on the homemade yeast rolls. Nothing else to say other than you have to try this place if you are in the area. I will be back, even if it's 6 hours from home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GRGT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a priceless gem off the blue ridge parkway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is hard to say any more about this place, as previous reviewers have said it all. It is really down home place with locals eating and gabbing and a few tourists discovering it. An A plus for the yeast rolls. When we are on the Blue Ridge looking for that great shot, the first thing my wife says "should I call ahead and reserve some of those yeast rolls before they run out?" I had the smoked 1/2 chicken was wonderful. And the deserts go fast, so when you get there have them put one aside, as by the time you finish your meal, that one last slice of coconut cream pie or bananna pudding may be gone. I rate them up with the yeast rolls.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Millard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christa's Country Corner also viewed

Newland, North Carolina Mountains
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
 
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Christa's Country Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing