We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and great staff. Thanks Justin!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shady Lawn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shady Lawn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
368 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Comfy and great staff. Thanks Justin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Its not the Ritz but its clean, comfy, pet friendly, and the nicest staff around. Cheaper and cleaner and ALOT friendlier than the Best Western in Banner Elk!

Little restaurant attached to hotel has good simple inexpensive food.

Also the hotel has free wi-fi which is a plus in the moutains.

Close to banner elk boone and johnson city.

I come to Newland twice a year and for now on this will be my home away from home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank billyandbobthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
37
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were attending a family reunion and this was recommended to us by several cousins who live a few towns away. It's newly remodeled inside, and is the very best place we've stayed in. Nice comfortable plush beds, the sheets were silky-soft (my sister asked for the name so she can try to order some for her new house). Bathrooms were large with lots of granite counter space and large walkin shower. Very reasonable rates. The front desk people couldn't have been more friendly. The restaurant next door is good country cooking.

Room Tip: standard rooms have one queen, deluxe have 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetLuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We needed a Sat night accommodation near the blue ridge parkway, and everyone was booked. This place appeared to be new and just a few miles from parkway. Very clean and great location. Convenient restaurant right next door. Employees were very helpful with restaurant and attraction advice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We called around and checked out the internet. This was a great find. The rooms are very clean. Bathroom was big and the walk in shower was great. The people that run the place are just terrific and look to make sure you are happy. We brought out lab with us and were not overcharged for him like they do in some of the brand name places. I think the location was great to, central to many places we wanted to visit. Will definitely stay again. we visit the Blue Ridge often.

BK RS

Room Tip: The standard king is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went looking a motel around Grandfather Mountain N.C., they reccomended the shady lawn. found it to be a small neat clean motel, great room, fantastic walk in shower. Older property, but nicely kept. People working there are down home country type people, just good mountain people. If i am returning to the area, i will certainly return..Great price.. only drawback, bed was a little low for a person with some dissabilitys.

Room Tip: Rooms with one king bed seem to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hephill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed two nights to visit friends in Linville, and found the room to be nice, neat, & clean! The recent remodeling shows, and the tiled shower was almost "just like home." The outside could use some dressing up, but once you're in the room, you'll be very pleased.
Be forewarned, however, that the beds are without inner springs, and as a result are very low. At our age, "Getting up is hard to do!" And since there is no comfortable chair for watching TV, it wasn't hard to find where everyone had sat -- on the edge of the bed in front of the nightstand. After a few hours of enduring the "hammock effect", I moved to the other side and got a good half-night sleep.

Room Tip: Careful: Make sure your room has AC in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guru2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at the Shady Lawn the weekend it opened, and now what might be a year+ later. It was just as great this last weekend as it was then. The staff is friendly and the rooms super clean. I'm always comfortable there, and as a single woman, feel very safe. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubreelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newland
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
15.3 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
17.8 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
16.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#3 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.0 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Lawn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Lawn Lodge

Property: The Shady Lawn Lodge
Address: 330 Cranberry St, Newland, NC 28657
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Newland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Newland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shady Lawn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the High Country of North Carolina in the community of Newland. We have 20 luxury units ranging from 1 queen bed to a 2 bedroom apartment suite. We are centrally located close to all major area attractions. Many championship golf courses line the area and resort communities with beautiful surroundings. Less than 10 miles to the top of Grandfather Mountain, site of the annual scottish Highland Games. Within 15 miles of the major ski resorts including Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain for winter activities. Two universities are close to the area, with Appalachian State University and Lee's McRae University, both within a 30 minute drive.Surrounded by beautiful hiking trails and nature walks, there is something for everyone within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Shady Lawn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing