We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shady Lawn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We (four adults, two vehicles, and two dogs) were enjoying the western mountains of North Carolina over the Columbus Day holiday. We had come down from Roan Mountain into Newland and had a battery failure. The auto parts stores were closed on Sunday so there we were, stuck. While sitting in the parking lot of the Lowes Foods trying to fix the problem several of the locals offered assistance and suggested we contact Shady Lawn for accommodations for the evening. What a pleasant experience! The staff was friendly and even offered assistance in getting the vehicle back on the road the next day. The hotel was newly renovated inside and out. The rooms were both very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathrooms were truly perfection. Large Granite countertops with ample outlets. A tile and glass shower. A lot of pride in ownership and loving renovation has taken place. I love that it is a family business that is passing on through the generations. A huge Thank You to the wonderful folks at Shady Lawn and to the LEO's for their assistance as well. We are already planning our next adventure to the mountains and hope to stay at Shady Lawn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dldavis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
37
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found this place through TripAdvisor and the excellent rating sparked my interest. We were looking for two rooms with two queens since we were traveling with several members of our family. We had checked our normal places we stay when we come to check out the fall leaves but they all had no vacancy. We have found a new place to stay! It is wonderful. First when we arrived the staff was awesome. They offer coffee, hot tea and sweet tea in the lobby during the day. The room was VERY CLEAN. The beds were soft, you just sank into them and there were plenty of pillows. There was a nice cabinet that discreetly held the fridge/freezer and a microwave, flat screen TV, table and chairs, free Wi-Fi and the tile shower was awesome. Plenty of room to move around! The closet was very spacious. The really nice thing - the blinds are the wooden plantation style blinds that open and the windows are new and they also open. We actually slept with our windows open and we really enjoyed the crisp autumn air. It was nice. I would so recommend this place to everyone and the restaurant onsite was nice too. One note and this is not the lodges fault but I have AT&T cellular and there is no service in this area, but my husband has Spring and he had awesome coverage.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 and Room 8. If you plan on staying for more than a night or two, choose Room 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed overnight a few weeks back and was quite surprised of the accommodations due to be a smaller hotel. Place was just renovated and it was immaculate. We stayed for here because of it's close proximity to Grandfather mountain and Linville caverns.Owners very pleasant and accommodating. Check in and check out went flawlessly. I only had one criticism and it was that there should be a curtain on the window that was located over the sink because it let a lot of light in . I believe there was a outdoor light was the culprit. Other then that there were no issues and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for our family reunion that was just down the road at Roan Mountain, TN. Everything was neat and clean and the beds are so comfy. They have a refrigerator and microwave, which some larger chains seem to be getting away from for some reason. The hotel is located perfectly amongst so many tourist attractions, like Grandfather Mountain and Elk River Falls. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funshapesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked on-line without any issues. I was coming for a wedding and wanted an inexpensive place to stay that was close to the festivities since I was traveling alone and was just staying overnight.

The staff here were as welcoming and as friendly as can be.

The room was excellent! Colors and linens were welcoming. Loved the wooden entertainment center for the tv that also stored the fridge and microwave. The room was spacious. The bed more than comfy. The bathroom was just extraordinary - pretty tile, walk in shower with lots of room and the bathroom itself was very spacious - plenty of countertops and electrical outlets for getting ready without having to unplug a thing. Mirrors and lighting were great for getting gussied up. Really, a very nice place. Housekeeping was very friendly too.

Had an awesome breakfast the next morning in the Shady Lawn Restaurant before heading out. Yummy!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the outside the Shady lawn looks to be a dated hotel in a small town. However upon entering the room I was very surprised to find a flat screen T.V. Nice Tiled stand up shower very up to date decor all around from the trim to the carpet Etc.. Extremely Soft beds, you know the kind you sink into when you lay down. Professional and courteous staff. The Only bad part of the stay is There are no smoking rooms at all in this hotel. So if it is cold or snowing that is what you have to deal with to get a smoke in. Had it not been for that I would have rated 5 stars. Very nice rooms especially for the price, good solid, fast Wifi. Popular and current T.V. channels Just a really nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rooms were very clean and comfortable, Staff was very helpful and the service was excellent. Being in town makes it very helpful. The Shady Lawn Restaurant was convenient and a great place to eat. It is close to Grandfather Mountain and Land Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin R, Owner at The Shady Lawn Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay. We value your opinions and appreciate your business. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newland
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
17.9 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
12.9 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
7.0 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Lawn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Lawn Lodge

Property: The Shady Lawn Lodge
Address: 330 Cranberry St, Newland, NC 28657
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Newland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Newland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shady Lawn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the High Country of North Carolina in the community of Newland. We have 20 luxury units ranging from 1 queen bed to a 2 bedroom apartment suite. We are centrally located close to all major area attractions. Many championship golf courses line the area and resort communities with beautiful surroundings. Less than 10 miles to the top of Grandfather Mountain, site of the annual scottish Highland Games. Within 15 miles of the major ski resorts including Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain for winter activities. Two universities are close to the area, with Appalachian State University and Lee's McRae University, both within a 30 minute drive.Surrounded by beautiful hiking trails and nature walks, there is something for everyone within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Shady Lawn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing