We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible,,,,Not a Hilton... Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrible,,,,Not a Hilton... Don't stay here”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Hilton should remove their name from this property. I have stayed twicve because I am a Hilton Honors member and the klocation is great. On the first visit they gave us a beautiful suite in the Inn. The problem was that there was no airconditioning (they knew this before they gave us the room) and there were no curtains or blinds on the windows, They moved us to a room in the "newer" part but it was quite dirty. the carpet was horrible in the hall and in the room. There was no airconditionng in the hall ways and the ice maker defrosted all over the hall.

Visit two.... wishfully thinking that it would be better, we revisted the hotel. We had a king room on the 4th floor. Again, the carpets were dirty and the room smelled terribly. It smelled damp and of over use of air freshener, which didnt work. The staff is friendly and the location if great... aside from that I can think of nothing good to say about this hotel. The smell was bad enough that my wife and i woke up felling ill. My previous experience with this hotle told me that the staff would be polite but do nothing so we endured as we were only here for 2 nights.

Hilton.... Are you listening....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    299
    232
    155
    102
See reviews for
234
351
40
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We loved the city of New Bern, and this was the perfect place to say, everything in town was walk able from the hotel. The room was wonderful and the beds were super comfy. It was a great nights sleep

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I've stayed at several hotels in New Bern, and this is one that I will not go back to. I was initially excited to try this hotel. It has a great location: not only is it in the middle of the quaint downtown, but its also right on the river, with a marina attached to it.
I checked in, and got a room on the 5th floor. This is the only floor that has balconies, which overlook the water and the marina. Awesome view! The good part ends there. The rug in the 5th floor hallway is rippled and folded up like an ocean with big waves. I'd never seen anything like that in any hotel, let alone a Hilton. It was the entire long hallway, not just one small section.
I then went into my room. The carpet here had several large holes and rips in it. There were ants streaming along one wall. The toilet ball was dirty, and had clearly just been used by someone with some GI issues. I tried to flush it away. . .it was clogged! Management was very slow to respond to all of these problems. Further issues: only a few channels that weren't scrambled on the tv. Truly without exaggeration, the a/c unit made a loud screeching sound that sounded like a dying cat all night long. In the lobby, there were connecting hallways with smelly, moldy carpet. The gym had exercise equipment with built-in tv's, but did not actually receive a SINGLE channel!
This was not a one-time thing. I stayed four times in this hotel over a couple of months. The location is so good that I really wanted to like it. Three of the four times, it was horrible. One time, I got a large suite in the newer of the two building. This room was nicer, but had no balcony, no wifi within range, and the tv only tuned in 4 channels. Further, it had no desk, and was a very long walk from the front desk.
Don't be lured by the location, this is a sub-par hotel that is not remotely worthy of the Hilton name.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enicideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Bern hotels

South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and I decided to go to New Bern for the Mum festival. We had been there before only 14 years ago. I decided to stay at the Hilton because it is waterfront and have rooms with a balcony. We always look for balconies because it gives a less claustrophobic feeling. I reserved one of the balcony rooms and am glad I printed out the reservation and took it with me. When we got there we were told there were no balcony rooms available. I showed my reservation reciept and the new clerk got a manager. They were immediately able to find an available room with balcony. Just wonder why they didn't have the request in their computer and how they "found" a room. Other than that clitch our stay there was wonderful. They did give us two free drinks in the bar for the clitch which I thought was classy. The staff were great, the 2 days of free breakfast was well worth it, and the room was wonderful. I do wish the Hilton would get the same beds as their Hampton branch has. The bed was nice but not as nice as the Hampton's pillow top. Minor stuff. All in all we'd definately stay here again when we next visit New Bern.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaParatrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We booked a riverview balcony room with nice amenities and were told when we arrived that we couldn't have our dog in that room (we had checked ahead of time). We took the smaller, no frills room that looked out over the parking lot. To add insult to injury, there was no hot water for the first day and a half (they were working on it) - we were told we could shower in the main building if we wanted (campgrounds?). When we checked out I asked for a discount on our room and were told there was nothing they could do, that we had booked through an on-line site. I left my number for the manager and left a message on her voicemail and I'm sure the counter help explained, but she never returned any of my calls. I'm sure they thought because we were from out of state that they'd never see us again - just wait until we return in a couple of months....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hagar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

There seemed to be a lot of staff milling around but only one person at the reception desk who was not very helpful. The whole place smells really damp and musty. When I got to my room on the 5th floor I could hear a lot of music and people from the pool area down below late into the night. My room smelled musty and the bed was not comfortable. The upholstered furniture was stained. The Hilton Honors executive lounge was trashed. the fitness center is located in another building outside. I was most disappointed as I am used to far better from the Hilton chain hotels. I will never stay here again or recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easterntraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I see from a lot of the comments about the noise and condition of the rooms but I had no issues at all. The website does not make it clear but there are 2 buildings at this location. The first one is the hotel building which is big and your typical hotel with lobby, business center, restaurant, pool and the outdoor bar. The second is a smaller building called the Inn Building we stayed in a room with a great view of the waterfront, the fountain they show on the website is in the inn building. It is nicer in my opinion but you may have to call the hotel or reservation 800 number to specifically request the inn, we did not know that is just where we ended up. LOVED IT and the town of New Bern is a great place to shop, dine and walk around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakemanNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
217 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing