We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
New Bern, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a very old property that needs much work. There were spiders on the wall upon entry to our room, dirty balcony. Change rooms, but the room we switched to seemed as if it was previously occupied that day...pillows not fluffy and towels were poorly presented. Changed rooms again...bedside lamps didn't work around 11:00pm loud party below us. Terrible experience. This was my second try...Never again. First try heating unit sounded extremely loud attendant could hear it through the phone. Stay away!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Tanika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize for the myriad of issues you faced during your stay and have brought them to the attention of our General Manager, Chief of Engineering and our Director of Housekeeping so they can be addressed immediately. I do see that our front desk staff did comp your stay so I am happy about that. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    302
    234
    160
    111
See reviews for
243
356
41
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel has some nice features but it's past due for renovations. The room was comfortable but could have been cleaner. The staff was friendly and helpful though and there was a nice view of the water.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize that your was not up to standard and have brought this to the attention of our General Manager and Director of Housekeeping so that we can address this immediately as they are not the standards we pride ourselves on. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel is clean, bathrooms are clean, beds are AMAZING (as always with the Hilton brand), and the hotel is in an awesome location. Wasn't overly impressed with the breakfast buffet (didn't like the bacon and the biscuits and gravy were horrible). We had trouble with the heat in our room when we arrived, but the staff was wonderful and had it fixed within minutes. Check-in staff was very helpful and welcoming. Restaurant staff was also helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that our staff made you feel welcomed during your visit. I do apologize about the breakfast and have spoken to our Executive Chef about this and it is being looked into immediately. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely hotel that is adjacent to beautiful new Convention Center, marina and great walkable downtown. Staff was extremely helpful. Just a little thing, but why no newspaper delivered to door in morning, and why was cable and internet service so slow?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank eskimodog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that our staff made you feel welcomed during your visit. I apologize that we no longer deliver the newspaper and that is part of the DoubleTree family effort to save trees. I have brought the issue of the slow internet and the TV to the attention of our General Manager and our Chief of Engineering so it can be addressed. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This property seems to have gone downhill. It is very tired, outdated and lacks maintenance. I understand that this Doubletree will be undergoing renovations but I really don't know how much of a facelift it will give this place. Rooms are small, basic and very plain. This brand of hotels usually has high standards but this one falls short.

One positive I would like to note is that their breakfast buffet and service was great! I needed to hit the road early and they were very hospitable to me as I rushed into the restaurant to get a quick bite and coffee. Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schaf1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that our restaurant was able to make you feel welcomed during your visit. I do apologize about our property condition and we are so happy that the first phase of our renovations are just about complete. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Bern hotels

United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Some furniture items were missing from room, i.e., ,couch, table and a lamp. Shower draining was slow, causing 1 inch of water to stand in tub before completing shower. People working front desk and lobby area were very professional. They were courteous and fulfilled every request asked of them. House cleaning did an excellent job. When the complaint about the backing up bathtub/shower, she did everything possible to correct the situation. She corrected the slowed drainage, but it did back up the during next shower. upon entering the room I noticed only one arm chair and a desk chair. shortly after checking into the room, one of the maintenance crew members exchanged the old desk chair with a new one. I discussed with the maintenance man there was only one chair in the room. We also discussed there was only one table lamp in the room. It was on the end table next to the right side of bed. He said he would speak with his supervisor and deliver the lamp on her order. The reading lamp never did arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that our front desk staff and housekeeping department made you feel welcomed during your visit. I do apologize for the issues you faced with the slow draining of your tub and the lamp. I have brought this to the attention of our General Manager and Chief of Engineering so it can be addressed. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Carol and I stayed here one night - Thursday 2/6/14 while attending a convention at the New Bern Convention center.

The desk service was very good - our room was ready and clean. Never did get our TV to work. Had warm chocolate chip cookies available at check-out.

Had sign posted on their front glass door - "excuse our renovation while we upgrade our facility"

I agree - it needs to be upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that our front desk staff made you feel welcomed during your visit and that your room was ready and clean upon arrival. We are just about complete with the first phase of our renovations and we are enjoying them. I have brought the issue of the TV to our General Manager and our Chief of Engineering so it can be addressed immediately. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
218 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing