We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I thought it would be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what I thought it would be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I arrived on a Sunday for business and left Wednesday at noon. I arrived early and the lady at the front desk was pleasant and professional about the appropriate check-in time. Left for lunch and arrived after 3, in the pouring rain. I stood and waited for a different lady to take multiple calls from guest. The lines were growing and she was focused on only phone calls. The hallways were hot and muggy. The room was clean and beds were great. No refrigerator or microwave, which is unusual at the rate charged. The carpets were smelly and torn, which did not make for a comfortable room, given that I had a child. I had a great view that helped balance out the “no playing in the floor”. I ate at the restaurant once. I waited 30 minutes for tea and then 60 min for a salad. The entire table had salad and we were late getting back to our training, held in the hotel. I asked the manager for tea and dressing, she seemed to “blow” us off and tended to other guest. The restaurant service was the worst I ever had. The “housekeeping staff” was great and I tipped them daily. They make the “dated” rooms as presentable as they possibly can and provide plenty of towels and coffee. The deck area had the same beer bottles sitting outside for two days and it really took away from the atmosphere. The male staff who do various jobs were very kind and helpful, even the younger men were pleasant and engaging. There is another conference to take place there, and I think I will stay in a different location given the rate and what is provided.

Room Tip: rooms that have a river view helped take my mind off of the dated decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kisha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    280
    209
    135
    82
See reviews for
208
322
37
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay Varina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best most romantic setting. Excellent staff, clean rooms, and beautiful property. Try this hotel and you will want to come back, I promise. This is my 5th year going there to celebrate my anniversary. It is now an annual thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Harriett Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to many more with you and your spouse. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a couple of night while I was attending a conference. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff was friendly. We had a room on the third floor with a nice view of the river and marina area. The room was clean and fairly spacious with expected amenities like a desk, flat screen tv, ironing board, hair dryer, etc. The bathroom was kind of small but clean. The pool area was nice and my wife enjoyed lounging by the pool while I was in meetings, having lunch and enjoying the outdoor bar area. This area also served as a busy bar with a DJ on the weekends. The hotel is very convenient to the convention center and the downtown area with a variety of attractions and restaurants. The hotel is in need of some updating which is supposed to be coming. The staff was friendly and housekeeping did a good job in our room. Check-out was easy and we would stay here again particularly if we needed to be near the convention center.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheeltraveler4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good Afternoon. I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff made you feel welcomed throughout your visit. We are just about to begin our renovations and hope to have them completed within the next 8-10 mths. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the New Bern, NC Doubletree for a one night trip. Hotel is within walking distance to restaurants and stores for a very relaxing experience. Room was great, staff was excellent, and the views are beautiful. Great place to stay for a New Bern adventure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastal4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and our staff was able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed here three times, all for business conferences. There are gorgeous, expansive views of the Trent and Neuse rivers. My room was $109 plus tax...a comfortable bed and the usual other stuff in the room.
The food is surprisingly good...our group had the choice of salmon or filet mignon and everyone had favorable comments. For breakfast you can order from the menu or go the buffet route...which has all the typical things, including Southern favorites grits and biscuits and gravy.
The bar is fairly small but ok. There is a large deck around the pool area which is a natural hangout to have a drink and enjoy the gorgeous view I mentioned earlier.

A problem that never got solved on my most recent trip there was that a lot of TV's were only receiving a few channels.

I would recommend this hotel. Historic downtown New Bern is a very easy walk...lots of colonial history, restaurants, and shops. It's not a big problem yet, but Hilton will need to start putting some money into the property before too much longer because it's starting to show some wear. Unacceptable at $300 a night but I can look the other way for $109.

Room Tip: Ask for river view (which also overlooks the yachts docked along side the deck area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurricaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here in New Bern and I hope we have the pleasure of having you back again. I also wanted to let you know we are just about to begin our renovations and high on our priority list are our guest rooms and public space. We hope to have them completed within the next 8-10 months. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recently changes positions within my company and NC is now my territory. I was excited to come to New Bern, and the town itselft is lovely. However, this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in recently and have been traveling every week since March. I normally stay in Hilton properties for rewards reasons but also stay at Marriott properties. I have traveled all my working life and am normally fine at a Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Marriott Courtyard, etc. I expected a Doubletree by Hilton on the water at this rate to be nice and while some of it is okay, most is not nearly as nice as a hotel half the price - even with this nice location. There are many rennovations needed. Some things have been done to make the rooms "look" nice, but they really have opportunity. My biggest issue, which was resolved by moving rooms, was that there was no desk/work area or chair and no refridgerator in the room. I am here for four days for work and need work space. When I called, she told me only executive rooms have desks and only people with medical conditions have refridgerators. The new room's carpet was dirty and while some things are great (like the bed), others just need upgrading. The food through room service is fair at best, the people who work here say the right things but seem unhappy, and the place does not seem to be well managed. The work out facility has no lights and the water cooler is empty. Oh, and no floor mats. I understand a Marriott Courtyard is opening down the street this month - maybe it will prompt this hotel to step up their game.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bodiKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking time to review the property. I apologize on behalf of the DoubleTree by Hilton New Bern - Riverfront for the issues you faced during your stay. We are just about to begin our renovations and high on our priority list are our guest rooms and our public space. We hope to have them completed within the next 8-10months and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I travel a lot and know instantly whether a place is going to please me.  I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who visits New Bern.  The parking is easy and free, the lobby is large and you will be welcomed with warm cookies.  Our room was comfy, clean and well maintained during our 5 night visit.  The food (and wine list) at Christophe's was very good including the breakfast buffet. Prices were reasonable and the wait staff was extremely accommodating, letting us dine outside even when they were not set up to provide service.  The live music at the end of the week is wonderful.  We were so surprised and pleased to arrive rather late and be able to sit on the deck over the water, enjoy bar service and listen to a jazz singer.  I also really enjoyed the Hilton Honors reception where they provided drink tickets and free bar food to members.  I've never experienced that and it was great. The location is awesome to. Fab views of sunsets over the water every night.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the river and you have wonderful views. The window is large too. We were right by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlwithaGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property. I am so happy to know that we were able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you during your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again. It was a pleasure meeting all "three" of you and I look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing