We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah...downgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yeah...downgrade”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Let me start by saying this was and still is one of my favorite hotels on the planet. You will always be treated well here, and particularly during the holiday season, there is no friendlier town in the world than New Bern. But... while being recognized as an Honors member is perfectly acceptable, recieving the "Hilton" treatment at a place like this was stellar. I certainly still recommend this place, and we will stay again, but you notice little touches they once had that aren't there anymore. I still suggest Christoph's for on-site dining (very good now - not great) and you won't find many better views than the New Bern marina at sunrise. Ask for the riverview side and take a stroll around downtown. A very nice getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our town and hotel, we're pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. We appreciate your comments and assure you that management has been made aware of your suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    294
    228
    151
    94
See reviews for
227
345
40
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel sits right on the Marina. The views are amazing! The rooms have been updated but the water pressure needs work! The staff is hit or miss. Christophe's is good and the wait staff wonderful. The warm cookies are super yummy!! I'll stay here each time I travel to New Bern!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenBug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We checked-in late & left early. The last time we were here it was the Sheraton. I believe the Hilton just took it over because they are renovating the floors one by one. We were on the fifth floor. I believe the view was worth the stay. They tried their best to do a good renovation, but the bathroom still needs some TLC!! We will stay again because I think it's the best hotel new bern has to offer. Maybe next time we'll even make a weekend of it :) Overall, we got to bring our dog, ($50 non-refundable fee) the front desk employees were friendly, and had a restful night sleep with amazing views.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nayst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We are always working to improve the hotel so we greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip. It is a very nice hotel on the water, so a a great view. They also offer pet friendly rooms, which is a plus. The rooms themselves are not the most modern I've stayed in but they are nice enough and very clean. There were some chips in the bathtub and a some rust around the handicap bar in the bathroom but the sink area was updated and there were plenty of shelves and drawers for your clothes and bags. The bed and pillows were also incredibly comfortable.

The in-hotel restaurant had good food, and again a great view but a limited selection and a little pricey. There are restaurants within walking distance though, so venturing out is not a hassle.

The one thing that would keep me from coming back was the lack of broadband connection. I could not log onto my work computer for this reason which put me a week back.

Other than that though, I'd stay here if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay was! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we want to ensure you that the internet connection will not be a problem the next time you're here! We are always working to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

One of the first things to consider regarding this property is that there are two distinct buildings. We stayed in the second building which is away from the check-in and the restaurant. Our stay actually occured during the first weekend in August 2012.
This is a great location. You have a great river view and the hotel is very convienient to the shops and restaurants that down town New Bern has to offer.
We were in room Rm 251 which was very comfortable and the lay out was very good. The beds and pillows were exceleent and comfortable.
Russ Carter was very professional and friendly during our check-in though were not offered any cookies.
This is an older hotel that has gone through previous onership and brand changes as well as a few storms. The maintenance crew were very visable and worked hard on the upkeep during our stay.
The main negative for us was the bathroom in our room. The bath tub was chipped and damaged and needs to be replaced. There was other areas in and around the bathroom that was in need of repair as well. Normally this is a major sore spot for us but the overall cleanliness of the bathroom and the entire room made our stay more than tolerable. We actully enjoyed our stay in spite of the glaring repair needs.
This property has the potential to be top notch once the major repairs that are needed have been completed.
We look forwarde to visiting New Bern again next year and hopefully we will find a new and improved Doubetree awaiting our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! As you noticed we are undergoing renovation and a recent change in management. We hope to have everything back to tip top shape soon and we look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boydton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here Oct. 19-22 with our two dogs. The room was clean and very comfortable. You would not have known you were in a pet-friendly room. The grounds were well kept and the hotel staff were very friendly. There was a problem with no hot water on Saturday morning, but we were offered another room in the hotel to shower. Also, the management waived the pet fee for the inconvenience. We always travel with our dogs and will definetly stay here again next time we visit New Bern. It would be nice to have a mini-fridge in the room and to include a breakfast in the (little bit pricey) room rate.

Thanks for welcoming people who want to bring their dogs with them and providing a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel satisfactory and accommodating. We apologize for the hot water issue. We are currently undergoing some renovations so this should not be an issue during your next stay. We look forward to seeing you and your dogs again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location on the water. Front desk clerks need to be trained as they were not helpful at all. Room was not clean with old carpeting and fixtures.
Water pressure was terrible and a shower was impossible.
Limited selections in restaurant
Could be a great place but no attention to details and customer needs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We apologize for any problems that you were faced with while staying with us. We currently working on the water issue and are about to undergo some renovations to our property. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and check out our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
214 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing