We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in New Bern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm startled and dismayed by some of the critical reviews of this hotel. It did suffer a lot of damage from the hurricaine in August 2011, but all that has been repaired beautifully. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The deck overlooking the pool and the marina is a terrific place to unwind, take a dip, and enjoy a cocktail in the summer. Also, the weekend bands make it a fun place to party in the evenings with friends. It doesn't have a free breakfast but I've never found the food to be good at hotels offering free breakfasts anyway. I love the Starbucks coffee in the lobby, and there are great breakfast cafes right up Middle Street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're pleased that you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on the marina overlooking the boats, the river and the bridges.
Great views from a 5th floor rive view room.

Short walk to downtown restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast buffet was adequate. The restaurant has a small bar for a.before dinner cocktail.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our hotel! We're glad that everything was just how you liked it and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just completed our stay at the Hilton Double Tree in New Bern, NC. The Mumfest was taking place which made parking problematic. We were told to just "go and find" a parking place in either lots; no valet was available. We had a Parking reservation sign to place in the window to avoid being towed.

Although we asked for early check-in (having arrived at one oc'clock) we were told they would see if housekeeping could get to it sooner. We returned at 2:30 and had to wait until 3:00, observing a number of other guests checking in early. Our luggage was being held with a promise it would be in our room as soon as it was available. The luggage was not in the suite and we had to phone to get it brought up. The hotel's staff employees were pleasant but continued to apologize because of being "really busy."

Our suite, a 2 double bed, 1 bedroom balcony Riverview was confirmed to accomodate 3 adults and one child. The room was clean but on the shabby side, not what we expected for a Hilton. the side chair had it's nail-head trim hanging off the arm; couch was stained and their was a mix of Early American and Ikea style furniture. Not a nice look for a Hilton. The hide-a-bed did not have sheets available in the room . We had to call for these. The sheets and pillows were brought to us, but excluded pillow cases.

The bathroom only had three sets of towels, but the reservation clearly stated 4 people. Once again, another phone call and they were quickly sent up. The shampoo, conditioner, etc. accomodated only one person but we no longer cared to phone the front desk again.

A coffe pot was in the room but there was only one sugar. Another phone call. It was promptly brought to us.

No alarm clock was needed in the morning as we were woke up early by a small barking dog in a room close by, woof woof.

The size of the room and the river view were extremely nice. The staff acted quickly on accomodating our requests. It seemed obvious that the hotel may be understaffed and management was allowing the basic needs of the customer to fall between the cracks.

Room Tip: The suite on NS overlooking the river provided a great view of the marina and was spacious. It also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempeGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay with us but we are very glad our staff was able to assist with all inconveniences. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area. We are currently undergoing a change in management so we hope to have all the kinks worked out soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

For this to be a Hilton with a marina, great restaurant/bar & live entertainment nightly, we really thought that we had hit the jackpot. Not so.

Upon checking in, apparently we came in the middle of a shift change & the lady we got was about to clock out. Our check in was so rushed that our keycards weren’t activated. Yet, when we went back down to the desk to get them fixed, we rudely got blamed for putting them near our cell phones, which we did not.

Once in the room, which was a non-smoking, two double bed, balcony riverfront, we found it to clean & nicely decorated. There were no chairs on the balcony, something that we found odd because we’ve never encountered that when staying in a room with a balcony. After unpacking & starting to relax, we noticed that our air conditioner was growing mold (EWW!!) & since it was a festival weekend, there were no other rooms available.

At this point, we were furious, yet we didn’t want it to ruin on trip & moving hotels would be too time consuming & waste our trip plans.

The next big thing that upset us was when we were getting ready for bed. We had called the front desk for extra blanket at 10PM & at 10:45PM we had still not received it. Finally we called the front desk again & again they put the blame on someone else, saying that there was a technical difficulty with their walkie talkies when notifying housekeeping (guess the phones went out too. HA).

There is also no continental breakfast. Like it’s ‘beneath’ them or something. Yet, you can have breakfast at Christoph’s for a high price.

On a positive note, the river views were amazing & the cleaning staff, housekeepers, bar staff, & waiters were extremely friendly! WAY friendlier than the front desk staff!! Also, having a balcony above where the live music plays was a plus.
We have been to New Bern many times, but we’ve always stayed at the Comfort Suites. Wanted to try something new this time & we shouldn’t have. In our opinion, if you’re going to stay in New Bern, stay at Comfort Suites, because the Hilton is overpriced & too sure of themselves!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

I am sorry about your experience with our housekeeping and front desk staff. First of all, I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who is rude or unhelpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. This includes our strict protocols for servicing guest rooms. The health and safety our guests are a top priority so I can assure you we are aggressively addressing the mold issue. I’m glad you enjoyed the view with our live music and the rest of our friendly staff. Please accept our apology for your experience and hope that you will visit us again so that we may show you the quality service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

A nice location for this partially renewed hotel in downtown New Bern. Close to restaurants. Breakfast ok, nice gym.
Internet station on the lobby and free wi fi everywhere. Service still to be improved but better than previous management

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay went! We're glad you've noticed our recent improvements. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights on our first vacation in New Bern. At first, we could only get the Doubletree for 2 nights and made reservations elsewhere for 3rd night, but at checkin, they found room for us. Great thing, because we wanted to be downtown. It's at the marina, and the dockmaster is in their 2nd building where we stayed. He was very helpful when our boat tour was cancelled (Scenic River Tour), and TugBoat Charters, which is docked right there, was perfect, $30 for 2.5 hrs. Also, New Bern Tours Trolley stops at the Doubletree before the start of their tours, so we got our choice of seats. $16. Bed was very comfortable. Complimentary Starbucks, citrus water in lobby, and front desk staff offer wonderful chocolate chip cookies. Toiletries are Crabtree & Evelyn, very nice. Front desk staff and housekeeping mgr are customer service oriented. Another staff member (not sure what he does) was on break and on the lobby computer next to me and spoke very highly of the restaurant, esp. breakfast. I love to hear employees talking favorably about their employers. Says a lot. Perfect location. Downtown is surrounding few blocks... lots of restaurants, two coffeehouses, shopping nearby, and always musical or arts events in New Bern. There were two events we noticed during our stay... a party (shower?) in a room on the ground floor of the building where we stayed, and a business conference getting started up, with bags at check-in for participants and a table with Hershey Bars outside the conference room. I bet they do great with meetings and conferences. This would be my first choice if staying in New Bern again.

Room Tip: Has two buildings. Let them know if you prefer the front desk/restaurant/lobby building. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are here for one night visiting New Bern and our experience is good. While some of the reviews were worrisome, our room on the 5th floor has a spectacular view and is clean and well equipped. Perhaps this room has been recently upgraded. The lobby is spacious and from upper levels provides a nice view of the harbor. Staff are very friendly and we would recommend this hotel. The location is perfect.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank SHM1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We appreciate your positive review about our hotel! We are always working to improve our hotel and we're glad that our improvements made your stay an easy one. We hope you'll stay with us next time you're in New Bern and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: $101 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing