We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, walk to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Coastal Carolinas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, walk to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Hilton Riverfront in New Bern, NC boast 2 wonderful amenities...location and water.
It is a large property and has boat slips on the Trent river side of the property. The HIlton has 2 buildings adjacent to the Convention Center. The outdoor pool over looks the river, exercising facilities are good and wi-fi is available in most areas as well as the rooms.There is a restaurant on property, though we did not try it out this trip.The location from downtown New Bern is perfect. Within a few blocks, one can find restaurants, shops, historical sites, and parks. Tryon Place is an easy stretch of the legs along with the Fireman's Museum, Historical Christ Church, Pepsi-cola "birth place" and respite from it
all at the local ice cream parlor, Cow Cafe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BooCoastalCarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We are incredibly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to make our loyal guests happy and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    281
    210
    136
    84
See reviews for
208
322
38
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This property has had a couple of different names. Now a Hilton. If you expect the the hotel to have the quality and professional staff of a Hilton you do not want to stay here. You should ask to see the room you will be given and ask questions like if the WiFi works and is the cable working. In the original building you can find holes in the walls, torn shears and water damage in the rooms. My last stay in the new side the toilet seat was half off of the toilet. The Internet access has not worked consistently for Ten + Years I have stayed at the property on and off. There are other choices in town now. I have had to check back out on a few accessions and go to one of the other big names on 17 so I would have Internet access to finish my day end reports.

This hotel is an extremely poor value for what you get.

The staff is deceptive!

If you want to stay at a hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms while in the area stay at one of the Brand names off of 17 or you can spend about $100 more to have a view of the famous New Bern Yacht Harbor at the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ranges_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
First we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on our hotel in New Bern, NC. We take great pride in our hotel and we use all comments and suggestions to better our property. We are aware of some of the issues that you have mentioned here in your comment and we want you to know that we are actually about to begin remodeling our hotel in the very near future. We do hope that you will stay with us again another time and check out all of our changes that will be coming soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Carpet on 3rd floor not safe, 2 days out of 4 got no maid service, pool was cloudy and nasty and small, air condition hard to keep room cool, no towels at pool, pool closed 9:30 at night and didn't open till 10:30 in morning, elevator wouldn't stop on 3rd floor, had to go to 4th and then back down to 3rd, rude employees when questions were asked. Hope our convention is never held there again!!!! Any other hotel would be better than this Hilton!!! Don't go there! You have been warned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Disney031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
We want to sincerely apologize for any inconvienences you experienced during your recent stay at our Hilton in New Bern, NC. We take all comments into consideration and want you to know that we will use everything you told us to better our hotel and staff. We strive to please our guests and we do hope that you will choose to give us another chance and come stay with us again next time you are passing through.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend while dropping our kids off for camp. The rate was reasonable and with HHonors Gold status breakfest was included for both of our rooms. The town's restaurants were packed with camp families so we wnede dup eating at the Hilton restaurant on the water. very good food at reasonable prices. We've already made our researvations for next summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gratefuldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed you trip so much that you decided to go ahead and book for next year! Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and the Hilton brand and please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to better accomodate your family while you are here.

Thank You,
Megan Cawley
Newport Group Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The room is nice, clean and spacious. The refridgerator is missing from the cabinet, which would be an issue if I were staying longer than one night. The room smells like a smoking room - though identified as nonsmoking. When I called the front desk, I explained there was a thick smoke odor when I entered the room. They had no rooms available to swiitch but promised to send someone with room deodorizer to the room - this was four house ago. They have yet to arrive.

The outdoor area is nice, but the bar server does not visit tables and, if you pay with a credit card, you have to go with her inside the building to get your tab because there is no machine at the outdoor bar. After having a snack outside, I went to the indor restaurant for dinner. I stood at the host stand for 12 minutes, then decided to retreat to my room for room service. i ordered a grilled cheese and french fries. Nearly an hour later, my food arrived. No ketchup was brought with the food.

Overall, not the best expeirence for Hilton. good thing they have wireless internet. the limited number of tv channels available (my room has only 10 at present due to "electronic renovations") left me with time during my stay to write this review!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank samseyborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay at our hotel in New Bern, NC. We do apologize for any inconvienences that you may have experienced during your stay and we assure you that we use all comments to better our hotel in every way. Your loyalty is very important to us so we hope that next time you are in town you will stay with us again and let us do something to make this up to you.

Thank You,
Megan Cawley
Newport Group Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Great location on the river. Nice deck to sit on and spend the evening. The staff goes out of their way to make sure that your stay is comfotable. They offer a short walk around the town Monday - Friday in the morning. Great way to get exercise and get to know the town. Would gladly stay here again if we are ever back in this part of the country.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking time to let us know how pleased you were with your recent stay at our hotel! We hope that next time you are in town you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank You,
Megan Cawley
Newport Group Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stay here every year when I drop my kids off at camp seagull. I've never been disappointed. you can also stay at the day sale condominium next door. The pool and the pool bar overlook the yacht harbor which is gorgeous .

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnwmulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
We just want to express our thanks for your comment of our hotel. We're extremely pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and we hope that you will continue to be a loyal guest as time goes on. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make you stay even better next time you visit.

Thank You,
Megan Cawley
Newport Group Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing