We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Morgan's Tavern & Grill
Ranked #1 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Morgan's, our philosophy is simple – Provide great service in a casual and comfortable atmosphere with quality ingredients.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

There were 3 of us for lunch on a Saturday. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendly attentive service and the well prepared food. Delicious flounder, burger, cocktail, salmon, and black pepper fries. Prices were reasonable! We will be back and will tell others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank demmaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    356
    96
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havelock NC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dinner with sister and brother-in-law”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Got together with my sister and her husband. We had been wanting to try Morgan's and thought it would be a perfect time to try it. The appetizers were delicious. We had Cajun Shrimp balls that all of us really liked and Spinach & Artichoke dip that was very good. Eveyrone liked their meals. I had the Sirloin topped with crab meat and Hollandaise sauce . Steak was cooked perfect and the salads were great, no iceberg, a good assortment of mixed greens. Definitely will go back, husband wants to try the Mussels next visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I visited Morgan's for the first time on June 16. I loved the atmosphere but especially enjoyed the food! I had the grilled fish tacos and they were delicious. My friend had the scallops pasta and a huge side salad. She said it was delicious as well. Our waitress was very attentive and as someone said in an earlier review, all the servers watched out for drink refills, etc. I had a hard time deciding what to order because everything on the menu sounded good and to be honest, everything that passed by our table looked good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Great Staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are on vacation from Texas and decided to try Morgan's Tavern & Grill for lunch based upon a recommendation from a friend. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the decor really nice. My wife had the lobster bisque which was recommended and a local favorite. After the first few spoonfuls it was nice, but after that there was a lingering fishy aftertaste which was not good. I had the meatloaf sandwich and it was descent, but not great. The best part of the visit was the staff working. They worked outstanding as a team, when our drinks were low, we did not have to wait for our designated server, we had our drinks refilled often by 2-3 different staff members. In addition, after having our bill left by our server, another server picked it up and took it to our server. The food was good, but not great, but for the price was reasonable. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant, just not the lobster bisque.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, GA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had great service. Food was good - excellent for the price. Hot croissants to start was great. Would go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Tavern & Grill also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Morgan's Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing