We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday celebration with the family”

Morgan's Tavern & Grill
Ranked #1 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Morgan's, our philosophy is simple – Provide great service in a casual and comfortable atmosphere with quality ingredients.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great birthday celebration with the family”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

While visiting family in New Bern, they took me to Morgan's for my sister's birthday celebration. We had a reservation and they seated us right away in a quiet corner so our kids would not be in the way of other patrons. The service was excellent, and they were exceptionally attentive with our two young children's needs, including a quick clean up of a spilled milk glass. The menu was extensive and the food was fresh and tasty. We had a great meal, and I'm looking forward to eating there again the next time I'm in New Bern.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    356
    96
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very popular local restaurant, not the best on our visit”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Morgan's is highly rated here, and is recommended by a lot of locals. We went for a late lunch on Sunday. First, we noticed a somewhat limited menu with most of the seafood dishes all being fried. Nevertheless, we were OK with ordering fish and chips. We were eating at the bar, and the bartender warned us they ran out of Cod, so Tilapia would be used. We almost let the order go, but canceled instead. Tilapia for fish and chips? The Brits would have a conniption! We were starving, so we ordered some of the Lobster bisque and some fries. The bisque was fantastic, loaded down with a lot of sherry and cream. Great flavor, too. I'd also give them good marks for having their own beers on tap, brewed elsewhere. The Porter and IPA were very good, reminiscent of English styles. We may have caught them on a bad day after a big Sunday rush, so I would possibly give them another shot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food great location”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

While they do often have a wait during the tourist season and special events I would recommend waiting to eat here if they are busy. We have been a few times now. We always order the mussels which are to die for. We ate so much one night which included salads, mussels, steaks and more that when we all had to go lie down for a few hours. The service has always been good, as well as fair, once they brought out something incorrect and immediately took our drinks off the bill. Definately one of my favorites!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gpbbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scotch Martini”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great staff, even though they served a scotch in a martini class and vice versa. The service and food are very above average.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice value and atmosphere. Excellent service”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We live about an hour from New Bern and often eat at Morgan's when we are in town. The service is always good, food is fresh, and the lunch especially is a good value. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere as well, though a bit dark. You can eat outside in nice weather.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastalGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Tavern & Grill also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Morgan's Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing