We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in New Bern, NC”
Review of Harmony House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harmony House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent a delightful two nights at the Harmony House. Ed and Sooki were the perfect hosts! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The inn is within one block of both the waterfront and downtown restaurants and shops. The best feature that many have mentioned is the front porch with two porch swings and four rocking chairs. While you are sitting there, a number of residents of New Bern, as well as visitors, speak to you as they pass by. All in all, it was a pleasurable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedMac23113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHIInnkeepers, Owner at Harmony House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. In times of frustration, it can be tempting to give up. Reading your review gives us such a heartfelt gratitude. Please know that we couldn't do this without guests like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived in New Bern with our reservations double booked at another Inn. We drove bt Harminy House and loved the bug front porch with swings and rocking chairs. The Innkeeper was very gracious and allowed us to pick our room from those available. We could not have asked for anything better. The room provided everything we needed and was very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding and both Innkeepers told us about some history of the Inn, New Bern and recommendations for dinner. This B&B is highky recommended and we will certainly return. Thank you for a restful visit.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms, they are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieH260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHIInnkeepers, Owner at Harmony House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love meeting people from all over like you. We are also glad that we were able to help you out when you had your reservations double booked at another Inn. The other inn's loss was definitely our gain. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Ed & Sooki were great. We got a last minute reservation, but they were still able to fulfill my special request for a bouquet of yellow flowers, which was a surprise for my girlfriend. The room was absolutely beautiful, the location could not have been more perfect. We parked the car when we got there and didn't have to get back in until we left; everything was walkable. Ed and Sooki were so pleasant, the wine & cheese was a great evening event, and the breakfast- they don't mess around when it comes to breakfast. Stuffed French toast, fresh cut fruit that they cut (not from a can), fresh-baked coffee cake kinda thing, and cereal in case you wanted something light. Oh, blueberry syrup to top over everything, which had real blueberries in it. OJ & coffee were served, so again, the breakfast was great. Great price, great location, great owners and employees.

Room Tip: Only tried room 1, which seemed fine. You can hear people on the front porch, but not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHIInnkeepers, Owner at Harmony House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2015

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really enjoy having young people stay at our inn knowing that most of them will never opt to go back to a hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again sometime. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Harmony House in New Bern, NC. This B&B is charming and the Innkeepers Ed and Sooki Kirkpatrick make you really feel at home. The home is much bigger inside than it appears from the outside. It is kept very neat and clean. The breakfast served was very good!! Of course the location in the downtown historic district means you can walk to any of the many excellent restaurants and other attractions in town. We actually live in the area but it is fun to stay downtown and would definitely stay at the Harmony House again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, just pick out the color schemes you like from the Website. You won't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This 1850-era home is located in as nice part of town, and in easy walking distance from all the attractions. But in our view, it had significant shortcomings. The television and toilets are circa 1970 and both are in need of upgrading. The hot water was only lukewarm, but we asked the owner to crank it up and he did. The toilet is quite low to the ground, which is a problem for aging knees, and v-e-r-y- slow to flush. There is a switch in the bathroom marked with an "H" that turns on an electrical heater that does warm up that room quite nicely. The biggest disappointment was that the breakfast was quite simple with no choices of entree and is served only at 8AM. Sort of like the "Continental" breakfast you would get at a Holiday Inn Express. Perhaps we wouldn't have seen that as a problem, except that one of our friends stayed at a different B&B in town and she was given a large choice of items for breakfast and it was served any time from 7AM to 9AM.

Room Tip: If you're going there in cold weather, we suggest getting a room on the second floor, because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHIInnkeepers, Owner at Harmony House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We are very sorry that this guest was unsatisfied with his stay. All of our bathrooms have standard sized sinks, toilets, and tubs (except our Jacuzzi Suites which have over sized tubs). While some of our televisions are older (circa 2000), we replace them with newer models when one no longer works. The television in this guest's room is about 15 years old, but we use it in that particular room because it because it has a 30 inch screen and the room is one of the large corner rooms. We have had many guests compliment us on the size of this television set. When the guest asked about turning the temperature up, we did and he was happy. If at any time he was uncomfortable, he could have told us right away so we could adjust it.

Our greatest disappointment is how the guest incorrectly believed that we only serve breakfast at one time. When guests arrive, we tell them we serve breakfast from 8 to 9 AM. The only time we have ever had one assigned breakfast time is when we have a family reunion or other large group and the guest requested that we serve breakfast at one time for the entire family. In 20 years, we have never had anyone question the times we serve breakfast. We wish the guest had asked us to clarify. The comment that our breakfast was like a continental breakfast from a Holiday Inn Express isn't a fair comment. We serve a hot entree, a homemade coffee cake, homemade granola, and some kind of fresh fruit every morning. While it's true that we prepare one hot entree each morning, we have always been willing to cook someone another item on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The owners were the best thing about this B & B. This was my first experience using a B & B and that my be why I was disappointed. First the temperature in the room was either hot or cold. We stayed 2 nightstand when we both took showers in the morning I did not finish my shower (2nd of course) I ran out of hot water both mornings. Breakfast each morning was hot and the owners interacted with us and kept coffee available. However, no meat of any kind. In the late afternoon - early evening we did ask for coffee and they made us a fresh pot. I guess the biggest complaint is the lack of hot water. The other couple with us said they had no problems with their hot water.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Grady R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We live just 50 minutes from New Bern but wanted to get away for a quick night to celebrate our anniversary. We really enjoyed our stay and the room was cozy and clean. Location was great as we walked to our dinner at the historic Harvey Mansion. There are also other dining establishments and coffee shops just a block or two away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
0.1 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony House Inn

Address: 215 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4942
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony House Inn Bed & Breakfast is an 8,000 square foot, Greek Revival style two-story bed and breakfast located in the heart of the historic district of New Bern, North Carolina. Originally built in 1853 by turpentine merchant Benjamin Ellis, the Harmony House Inn is a totally restored historic property, with nine bedrooms, operating as a premier Bed & Breakfast since 1985. This romantic getaway venue, the Harmony House, is furnished with the unique blend of European, African and American artwork, locally handcrafted and fine furniture, antiques and other memorabilia. This unusually spacious bed and breakfast features three ground-floor guest bedrooms each with private bathroom, and six second-floor guest bedrooms including two luxury King suites featuring bathrooms with over-sized whirlpool tubs. In each room, guests enjoy free wireless Internet access, smart televisions, tablet and smart phone charging stations, individual climate control, ceiling fans, plus private bathrooms with luxury bath amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing