We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every bed and breakfast should be like this!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Obx, nc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Every bed and breakfast should be like this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had a wonderful time with my husband at this B&B. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect for going out to explore new bern. The quality was top notch, the place was beautiful and the breakfast portions were incredible. If you stay, get the french toast!! I love this place. It elegant, luxurious and cozy all at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myasmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    30
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
313
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buhl, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Aerie in August and had a wonderful time. Our hosts where welcoming and very gracious. I have never seen such a beautifully decorated B&B before. With all the themed rooms, it was hard to pick one! Very comfortable and relaxing. It's very close (walking distance) to all the attractions and restaurants in the area. We bought the Romantic Package and had an enjoyable carriage ride to our romantic dinner for two. And what can I say about the breakfast...amazing and delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed across the street at their second B&B. If you want to stay close to the action, pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmachado65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Trip advisor reviews led us to another great place to stay. My husband and I traveled with another couple to New Bern and this B&B was amazing. The hosts were very friendly, the breakfast great and the place located central within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. We will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cannot say enough about this wonderful B&B that is clearly dedication at it's finest. Quality, value and commitment. Hospitality and the finest breakfasts far exceeded any other B&B's we have stayed in to date. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Basin room was a smaller room but oh so comfortable. Very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmize454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tazewell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband enjoyed our night at the Aerie last weekend. Sorry we were late for the social hour and missed meeting the others. The comfort of the Duck Room was perfect for a good night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious and the host and hostess were very accomodating.

Room Tip: The bathroom light is dim for anyone with poor eyesight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Aerie has it locked. The house is beautiful, clean & cozy. Great location, it was nice to stroll out in the evening to dinner. Only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy TWO breakfasts! The food both at the social hour in the evening and at breakfast was very good & well presented. Everyone was very friendly, service was excellent. We loved our room, the Magnolia room. Our bed was oh so comfy (love the sheets too). Definately would return and recommend! Thank you Marty & Michael.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room. It's on the second floor. Both the room & bath are spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Aerie B&B is a great place to stay -- a beautiful house in a quiet area, just around the corner from Tryon Palace, gracious hosts, happy hour where you'll meet other visitors and a fabulous breakfast. We had a smaller room that was very comfortable with a private bath and huge walk-in shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aerie Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aerie Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
Address: 509 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28562-5611
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aerie Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1882, the Aerie Bed and Breakfast is home to a premiere New Bern, North Carolina bed and breakfast, guest house and conference center. The Aerie Bed & Breakfast features nine well-appointed rooms, each with private bath, modern amenities and tasteful decor that reflects the home's late-Victorian heritage. Across the street, The Aerie Guest House and Conference Center offers two additional guest suites and a meeting facility to host events and functions. The Aerie is one block from the Colonial Tryon Palace Historic Sites and Gardens, and walking distance to fine dining, antique shops, marinas and The Birthplace of Pepsi. Our North Carolina inn is the perfect lodging choice for the discriminating traveler interested in convenience to the town's top attractions, while still experiencing the warmth and charm of elegant accommodations. Sailing, fishing and fine dining are all at your fingertips. The Aerie B&B is located in the heart of it all! Whether it's business or pleasure, your stay will be one surrounded with award-winning, personal attention and one that you will want to repeat. Your hosts, Michael and Marty Gunhus, look forward to welcoming you to their New Bern, NC bed and breakfast. The Aerie has the distinction of being awarded 'Simply the Best B&B' in the area by the Sun Journal- Five-time recipient - The Aerie Bed & Breakfast - An Inn of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Aerie Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing