We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty b&b, great location, too strict breakfast hours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty b&b, great location, too strict breakfast hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

The inn was very well maintained and beautifully decorated. Staff was very friendly overall.
My only dislike was that breakfast is only served from 8-9 am. If you miss it, you better start looking for other places in town to eat! Unfortunately, even if we were told during check in process (which we probably were), it didn't register. At 9:40, I asked for even cold cereal or a muffin and was told that the kitchen was closed and nothing could be done.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    30
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
313
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Every comfort: bed, chairs, delicious breakfast, and afternoon social. The hosts were welcoming and sociable without being intrusive. We enjoyed everything about the inn and its very central location for enjoying the historic town of New Bern.... a secret to us northerners. Our room was the Carolina Room but they all looked equally nice.

  • Liked — the bed and the special breakfast.
  • Disliked — Can't think of any negatives.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Graces_Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

The innkeepers work hard and do a fabulous job.

We stayed several nights in the Carolina room. The room itself was great, but be slightly warned that the door is directly beside both the front inn door and the foot of the stairs. You will hear noise outside during the day, but it did not bother us. The room was extremely well appointed and comfortable.

As I said the innkeepers work hard and really make this such a special place to stay. Unfortunately for us, they were off a couple nights during our stay. While I'm sure they had a well deserved break, the "back up" innkeepers weren't able to match their level of service and friendliness. Our afternoon "appetizers" consisted of a can of nuts and some chips and salsa from a jar.

The price for this B&B is a great deal. We walked around a lot in downtown New Bern (which I was already familiar with). It's definitely nice, but the restaurants we visited were all very uninspiring. I think this might be the case for the New Bern area as a whole.

Great stay overall, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAXflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington,NJ
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

We loved our stay at the Aerie B&B. The bed was so comfortable and the linens so soft. We went on Thanksgiving day so the inn was decorated so beautifully already for Christmas. The feel of the place was homey. Our only complaint was there were no cookies or chocolates to snack on but then again, it was Thanksgiving and we had our fair share of pumpkin pie before hitting the sack. We were up nice and early for breakfast and the meal was served quickly and was quite tasty. Coffee was ready and we were very happy campers. We were surprised with such quick service down South :o) The people who are managing the Inn are doing a terrific job. We stayed in the Carolina room on the main floor yet it was still quiet and peaceful. Thanks for the great hospitality.

  • Liked — Comfortable Nights Sleep
  • Disliked — no snacks that night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

I booked this 'b&b' on the spur of the moment as a surprise for my husband. Coming from the UK we prefer b&b over chain hotels because of the personal touches and the opportunity to stay in some wonderful houses. I couldn't have chosen a better place than the Aerie. The house is gorgeous. It has a wonderful warm relaxing feel to it helped by Marty & Michaels natural ability to make people feel welcome in their home. We arrived in time for the evening wine and nibbles and joined a whole bunch of cousins staying for a family reunion. Our room was great and the bed to die for. The relaxed atmosphere was fantastic making you immediately feel at home. Marty & Michael were fantastic hosts and couldn't have made our stay any better. The breakfast was a gourmet treat, different and done with real dedication to detail (Marty in the kitchen, whilst Michael waited on, treating us to some great banter throughout breakfast). I would say the Aerie is better described as a country house than a ' b&b'. I would recommend the Aerie to anyone looking to 'chill out' in luxury surroundings, looking for a truly memorable experience. It certainly does what is says on the can!!

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmaid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach, sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

My husband booked us an evening away as a surprise for my birthday. We arrived to a room full of cheery, happy guests, enjoying a small cocktail time (another plus here)! We were quickly checked in and shown around the property. Many extras were offered ranging from movies, books and cd's, all the way to fresh hot beverages available early mornings, and cold drinks at all times.
They booked us a dinner package at a local fine dining establishment, and we could not have asked for a better recomendation. The food was outstanding, the service equivalent.
The next day, they sent us off to explore the town, with maps in hand and suggestions of attractions we would enjoy. Again, another bonus was to be able to leave our car parked in their lot while we visited the town, as parking could be an issue in the historic area.
The Innkeepers were very kind and considerate and extremely entertaining. A simple statement on my husband's behalf "They thought of everything".
Many thanks for a great birthday and helping him to make it a memorable one!!!

  • Liked — location, quality of accomodations, knowledge and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — only able to stay one night as we had to get back to work!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

Aerie Inn is one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at. The owners, Marti and Mike, actually live in the house which is unusual among B&Bs and are very congenial hosts. Marti is also the breakfast chef and her dishes are "to die for", both tasty and pretty. Each morning there is a choice of 3 different gourmet hot entrees. Our room (the Carolina) was very comfortable and well-kept, with a private bath including a spa tub. The afternoon social hour is very nice, almost like visiting with your next door neighbors (assuming that you like your neighbors). After a couple of long days looking at potential homes, it was great to relax in the Aerie parlor with a glass of wine and snacks, and have friendly conversation with the hosts and other guests.

  • Liked — Overall excellent condition of our room.
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wine-o-saur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aerie Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aerie Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
Address: 509 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28562-5611
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aerie Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1882, the Aerie Bed and Breakfast is home to a premiere New Bern, North Carolina bed and breakfast, guest house and conference center. The Aerie Bed & Breakfast features nine well-appointed rooms, each with private bath, modern amenities and tasteful decor that reflects the home's late-Victorian heritage. Across the street, The Aerie Guest House and Conference Center offers two additional guest suites and a meeting facility to host events and functions. The Aerie is one block from the Colonial Tryon Palace Historic Sites and Gardens, and walking distance to fine dining, antique shops, marinas and The Birthplace of Pepsi. Our North Carolina inn is the perfect lodging choice for the discriminating traveler interested in convenience to the town's top attractions, while still experiencing the warmth and charm of elegant accommodations. Sailing, fishing and fine dining are all at your fingertips. The Aerie B&B is located in the heart of it all! Whether it's business or pleasure, your stay will be one surrounded with award-winning, personal attention and one that you will want to repeat. Your hosts, Michael and Marty Gunhus, look forward to welcoming you to their New Bern, NC bed and breakfast. The Aerie has the distinction of being awarded 'Simply the Best B&B' in the area by the Sun Journal- Five-time recipient - The Aerie Bed & Breakfast - An Inn of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Aerie Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing