We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Each time is a charm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanna House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Each time is a charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I reviewed the Hanna house a few years ago when I stayed in New Bern on a business trip to Cherry Point. I was worried that my memories had become too idyllic over time, and it might not be as nice as I remembered.... I was wrong.

The place is incredible. Every detail, and I mean EVERY detail, in the home is done by design -- the furnishings are all real antiques, hand selected by the owners, and immaculately kept.

The food? Holy cow -- it would be worth paying expensive restaurant prices just to eat the breakfasts there, and it is unbelievable that it comes with simply staying there. Mind you, this is NOT just some "buffet of eggs and bacon". Each breakfast is made for you based on your selection the night before. Be brave when you order, and be prepared for something truly gourmet.

WOW. This place is a rare gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schpladle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
151
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this beautiful B&B. Breakfast was very delicious. One could choose among many different items, so that it was difficult to decide. Camille was a charming lady. And we felt almost like home: there was a little mug in our beautiful room, written "ABB" on it and we know it is a mustard mug from our home city Duesseldorf in Germany. The mustard company exsits since more than hundred years.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeDuesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a nice room decorated with many pre civil war stitched samplers and other antiques. The bed was very comfortable, towels were plush and the whole inn was immaculately clean and full of interesting antques and collectibles. The breakfasts were very creative and delicious and the owner could not be more accommodating. The inn is within easy walking distance to Tryon Palace and all other attractions in the historic district. The area is dotted with pre civil war homes and other historic buildings. There are several good restaurants in the area and many interesting boutiques and shops, which the innkeeper identified for us. One caveat: the innkeeper has a dog who is very well behaved and adorable but might be a problem if you have allergies to animals. We found the dog, the "boss" of the house, to be a read charmer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraBTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am a traveler. I've stayed in everything almost every where but nothing beats this B&B.

The house is beautiful, decorated so charming. In the dining room downstairs you are served the most delicious breakfast with fresh squeezed juice and fresh coffee. Camille gives you a menu of about 10-15 items to choose from the night before and cooks it fresh when you come down stairs in the morning.

The rooms are perfectly sized and comfortable with modern bathrooms, fresh fluffy towels (everyday) and really great products to try out while you are there. Even had chocolates on the dresser for us. There is a small fridge for your use stocked with bottles of water in the hall way up stairs along with board games if you wish.

Out back was my favorite. There is a small raised deck next to a goldfish pond that when you walk over the fish come to the surface and beg. I spent most of the time reading here. Camille came out and offered me a glass of wine, can't get much better than that. Be careful not to let Katie the little terrier out, she's very quiet and sneaky.

This has to be one of our most favorite weekend stays. I would recommend this B&B over any other place and the host are two of the most gracious, friendly, accommodating people you will ever meet. I can't think of one thing that could have been better except staying a little longer.

Room Tip: The lincoln room is large and at the end of the house with a view of the goldfish pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseReaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Every aspect of the Hanna House B&B experience was perfect! Extremely clean rooms and en suite baths, thick fresh towels replaced every day (we stayed 3 nights), great location to downtown New Bern--just a block away. The best part, however, was the breakfast. Never stayed in a B&B (here or abroad) that offered a huge menu. Everything from eggs Benedict, eggs Florentine, fritattas, stuffed french toast (two kinds), shrimp & grits, a beautiful dutch pancake (apple) and much more. Fresh squeezed orange juice and good coffee. Camille was a wonderful hostess, making suggestions when asked and even offering to drive to areas of NB (we were house-hunting).

We didn't find a house, but feel like we made friends. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive room ($99) and it was bright, airy and just right. We peeked into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPJ515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two day stay at the Hanna House. The Kolz offer fine hospitality in their historic home located within walking distance of all friendly New Bern has to offer. The breakfast kept us going until time for dinner and are the delicious food is prepared according to your choice from a very wide range of choices. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The best B&B we have stayed in over the last six years!
Sam & Nancy

Room Tip: Select a room with the sauna bath. Front room has a great little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastorsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location a short walk to river, shopping and dining. Room was perfect with the charm of antique furniture to the Modern bathroom w jacuzzi and beautiful tile in the shower. Porch was a perfect way to enjoy the wonderful coffee anticipating breakfast. Breakfast was a real treat. Fresh squeezed orange juice fruit cup and choice of main dish. First day was my first frittata and will be hard to beat. My partner had one of the French toast and will tell anyone who will listen about the delicious French toast with Creme brûlée sauce. Next morning my partner had the eggs Benedict which was awesome. I ventured to another first with croque madam. Well almost it was smashed egg as I don't like sunny side egg. So glad I lived outside of my omelette world.

Camille and Joe were wonderful. There when we needed and privacy that we wanted for our 6 year anniversary. We asked for additional pillows and were provided immediately. House was spotless and well taken care off.

We found our location for all our future anniversary's and any trip to New Bern.
Before we left we already talked to Camille about another stay. This truly is what a bed breakfast experience should be.

Chuck and Jill
Wilmington NC

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillnc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanna House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanna House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 218 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanna House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hanna House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing