We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Meat Loaf Ever...”
Review of Bakers Kitchen

Bakers Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
World Traveler
2 reviews
“Worse Meat Loaf Ever...”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Bakers has been one of my favorites since I moved to New Bern, but on our last visit, I ordered the meat loaf. Horrible stuff. Dense, spineless, terrible sauce, dry, and disappointing. The service was good, and my husband's pork chops were delicious. I would recommend that they take the meat loaf off the menu or get a new recipe ( try the Amish Meatloaf recipe). Renovations are nice and the breakfast never disappoints.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KhunFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    205
    60
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun visit with friends”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stopped at Bakers Kitchen after a movie for a nibble and some coffee/tea. So we didn't eat much of the food, but I must say it was comfortable, and the staff were very good to us, considering we didn't order much. We ate the muffins and cookies, and they were good, and they had a tea selection and good coffee in great big mugs. Enjoyed our visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MK C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
257 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another great experience!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stepped outside our boxes and tried something other than the hungry farmer. And once again completely satisfied. Our waitress Amy was outstanding! If in New Bern NC this is a must try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Bakers Kitchen is in the downtown New Bern. It's location is perfect walking distance for travelers staying in the downtown historic district. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner with a casual, family atmosphere. The menu offers enough selection to please everyone. The breakfast is very good with pancakes being a specialty. Food is delivered to the table fresh and hot, made to order. Service is always good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa0669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best baked goods!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best cinn. buns, sticky buns, cookies, etc in New Bern, hands down. I have only ate there once as a meal & it was good, but not really memorable. I do go often early in the morning when the baked stuff is still warm. Every out of town guest we have gets something from there & most special occasions at work. In the historic district its' a pretty walk. Street parking can be a drag, but as noted, it's a pretty walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitamon121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakers Kitchen also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bakers Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing