We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be.”
Review of Bakers Kitchen

Bakers Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This used to be the best place in town for breakfast. The restaurant was sold last year and the prices went up and food quality went down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike49389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    213
    64
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“really good”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

great place for us to get breakfast for my husband, kids and myself. really good food and nice atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy101311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bring on the French Toast”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a quaint, fun little restaurant where you can tell many locals come for coffee and a reasonably priced, home-cooked breakfast. The french toast and coffee were yummy! Even my vegetarian son found something he could eat. Worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“can no one make a decent omlet?”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

i was going through new bern onmy way to havelock sun aug 26 and have been trying to have a good omlet experience, outside of my kitchen which is under renovation, but that seems impossible. there were 25 folks in the downstairs dining room. the service was very quick, waiter brought coffee right away, guess you have to ask for water. i asked him if the mushrooms were fresh. he said yes. they looked black and canned so that put me off. onions were under cooked and not carmalized and not many of them, the spinich was almost nonexistant, but looked fresh i was expecting some hand cut potatoes as i had asked for the cubed ptatoes instead of the white rozen worms (hash browns) one usually get at the waffle house. they came out of the fryer and looked like tater tots the rye bread was home made but i liike to put my own butter on my bread instead if relying on the kitchen to apply the mystry grease that usually renders the toast soggy. all in all it was a dissapointment.. i will not be returning the heart killer cinamin buns did look good in the case

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kkatz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast but that's it.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Breakfast and desserts are excellent. But anything is truly disgusting. Their beef stew looks and tastes like dog food. They have a chicken that tastes like something off the campbell soup can Their French toast and pancake with homemade butter syrup is amazing. Farmers breakfast is huge

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeaFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakers Kitchen also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bakers Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing