We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chelsea

The Chelsea
Ranked #4 of 167 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a waste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We went to New Bern for the 1st time. After wandering through the very nice downtown we looked for a nice place to eat. We had our 8 year old son with us. I knew we were in trouble when they looked at us like we were space aliens because we brought our son. The building was very old and beautiful we were so disappointed when we walked inside, it was early American K mart. Next was the food, rich, over cooked and just plain bad, this was all three meals. What a shame, so much potential wasted. Such a quaint beautiful town, needs a restaurant that lives up to the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank LovinithereinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    182
    75
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous shrimp & grits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not to be missed! Our 2nd trip to New Bern and the first stop for lunch was The Chelsea.
I had salmon with a Pepsi Cocoa coating (sounds wierd, but delicious) and my husband had
a repeat...shrimp & grits. Smokey flavor, perfectly cook shrimp...what more could a traveler want.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artspiritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Waitress could be nicer - don't you work for tips?!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great food, service could be better. Nice environment, but waitress seemed more preoccupied with getting finished and getting off than if we had a good experience. The food was excellent and didn't take too long to get, but we were sitting at the table 10 min before a waitress came; and she didn't apologize - and it wasn't busy.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank family_man0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing amazingly impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The menu is limited, and the food wasn't anything to absolutely rave about. It is a nice restaurant that I consider to be overpriced. Their dessert menu is divine though!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emilywhite4031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been to the Chelsea Restaurant many, many times. It's one of my two favorites in downtown New Bern, NC. It has the historic flavor of this wonderful, charming town, located just a couple of blocks from the waterfront.

My two most favorite always dependably perfect entrees are the Oscar Filet (filet mignon topped with lump white crab meat)with a delicate creamy butter sauce and the Lump White Crab/Shrimp Buerre Blanc served with a rice pilaf. OMG! Choose either one and you will thank me!

There is a wonderful wait staff who are friendly, knowledgable and fast.

Seating is great! The downstairs is lively, upstairs is a bit more quiet/romantic and has great views so ask for a window seat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rfuller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chelsea also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing