We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back”
Review of Captain Ratty's

Captain Ratty's
Ranked #8 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Would love to go back”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Captain Ratty's is the first place we went upon arrival in New Bern! Great choice, great location, fun place! We had lunch there but would love to go next time we are in town for dinner. The shrimp wrap is amazing and filling. Prices are very reasonable, service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lamchop09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    233
    99
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great date night with my wife!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and i decided to ride down to New Bern from Goldsboro just to get out and do something different for a date night and we stummbled upon Captain Ratty's. We love going to New bern but had never eaten here before so we decided to give it a try. We were very pleased with everything! We waited maybe 5 minutes for a table, our waitress was great (i wish i could remember her name), and our food was DELICIOUS. I had their Low Country Boil and my wife had their Shrimp and Grits. I really enjoyed my food but her Shrimp and Grits were the best i had ever tried and she agreed. We love heading east every chance we get and we will most definitly be visiting Captain Ratty's again! Soon i hope!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great seafood for good prices. I wish there had been more "smaller", seafood options, though. I felt so stuffed after eating my entree - uncomfortably so. While there were a lot of choices for burgers, I wanted a small plate of seafood and really could not find that on the menu. Also, our waitress was fantastic but the hostess could use some manners. She was incredibly brusque with our party.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank illini511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best oysters I have ever eaten”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great atmosphere. Eat in the bar upstairs. Excellent food and service. Been twice and if in New Bern will dine there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When in New Bern...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I love to eat at Captain Ratty's. Whenever we head to the beach we love to stop in for Dinner on the way there and usually on the way back too! It is easy to get too off of Rt 70, in the downtown area. I love the Shrimp & Grits, their Reuben sandwiches, Burgers, Steaks it is always yummy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorettad252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ratty's also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Ratty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing