We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Ratty's

Captain Ratty's
Ranked #8 of 167 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast on a Sunday. I believe they only serve breakfast on the weekends. We had about a 15-20 minute wait for a table but the breakfast was certainly worth it. Service was very good and the food was delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    221
    94
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time Or Money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited New Bern with family this past weekend and decided to go to Captain Rattys based on a recommendation. After having to wait for about 20 minutes to get a table I was never so surprised at such poor service. First of all my waitress had an attitude and never even gave our table her name which was (Tara).

After ordering our meal we waited over 40 minutes to recieve our meals. The meal was average at best. I ordered the grilled shrimp with garlic mashed potatoes. First of all they only gave me 6 regular sized shrimp, and the mashed potatoes were hard and luke warm. When I complained about the number of shrimp the kitchen asked me if I would accept 2 more shrimp. I agreed, but was very disappointed with the meal. If I am spending over $18 for a meal I would expect to get more than 6 shrimp and a side of mediocre potatoes.

Take my advice don't waste your time or money. The restaurant is too pricey for the quality of service, quality of ingredients, and size of entree. Again our waitress was not friendly at all. She seemed to rush us, because the place is very small to begin with and I supposed they needed to get other people in who may have been waiting like we did.

I will give the restaurant a small bit of credit because at least the owner did come to our table and aplogize for the long wait in getting our meals, however the damage had already been done.

If I ever return to New Bern this will not be a place where I will chose to dine again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bush41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Eat Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

While highly reccommended, the food was below average, cold and slow to arrive. Our server (Tara) was down right rude. The place is over priced for the quality of food and the lack of service. Never eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Neat place in a neat little town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had one night in New Bern so I selected Ratty's for eats in this quaint little towm. I was solo so I sat at the bar for dinner and a beverage. Fried green tomatoes for a delicious starter and the fish tacos for the main dish were delighfully seasoned. The beverage choices were decent and the bartender serrvice was very friendly,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WarmWeatherPlease013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

House salad good. Shrimp, oysters, scallops too much breading and lukewarm. Baked potato over cooked. Had to ask several times for water. Corn muffins spongey and cold. Had a coupon for a free desert. No one knew anything about it and they would not honor it. After a call to the owner, they gave us 10% off. Never again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olemozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ratty's also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Ratty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing