We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, but not worth the ride”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Resort at Fairfield Harbour
Lewisburg, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice, but not worth the ride”
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We are members and booked for a week. The resort is in the middle of NO WHERE. The condo was clean and spacious and we loved the screened in back porch looking out over the pond. The beds were terrible. Not one was comfortable in the entire condo. New Bern is nice, but it takes about a day to see that and then there is not much else around there. We did go to the beach which was 40 minutes away (Atlantic beach was very nice) and we also took in the Aquarium, which was nice as well. There simply was not enough to keep us occupied for a whole week, so we ended up going back to Williamsburg a few days early and staying at the Hilton. Their beds were fabulous. I have stayed in numerous Fairfields all up and down the East coast. They are nice condos, but for the price we paid for the timeshare, they should be. We also made the mistake of taking the office up on the free tickets they offered us only to be tied up for more than an hour trying to get us to buy more points. We won't make that mistake again...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank whizzkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
70
54
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Using Rci timeshare, My room was a spacious 1 bedroom (full kit, wirlpool bath) room located on the Golf course. The pool was very nice, 3 large ponds to fish from. Note stop by Food Lion and stock up, Resort is 5miles from anywhere. FairField harbour rooms overall needs a upgrade (ie paint) otherwise go there to unwind

  • Liked — Rec ctr / fishing
  • Disliked — cleanliess
  • Tips/Secrets — stock up on food before entering
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2006

We just got home after spending a week here. we stayed in the Sandcastle Village condos. There was a wonderful pond just outside our back deck. Bullfrogs sounding off at night, ducks, turtles & fish to watch and enjoy during the day. Very lovely, we had a wonderful week.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimesland, nc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

We had a very nice time at Fairfield Harbour. The condo was clean and quiet. My only complaint was that everything was so spread out that you could not just walk to the pool, or playground.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2005

This is actually a timeshare community. The accomodations were OK, but I checked in after hours and the office was closed. Because it's not a hotel, their billing/accounting department is not set up to handle even simple requests (they refused to fax me a copy of my bill). I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
7.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
5.0 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
302 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
593 reviews
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Fairfield Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Fairfield Harbour

Property: The Resort at Fairfield Harbour
Address: 475 Broad Creek Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-9326 (Formerly Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Harbour)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Fairfield Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort features breath-taking waterfront, wildlife and golf course views. Each unit offers a furnished living area and full kitchen. All share in our generous amenities such as the marina, golf course, restaurant, pool and recreation center. We are 10 minutes from historic downtown New Bern and 45 minutes from the beautiful Crystal Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Resort at Fairfield Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Harbour Hotel New Bern
Wyndham New Bern
New Bern Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing