We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Resort at Fairfield Harbour
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Yes, the units need updating but I feel that the resort is working on that. The area is beautiful, peaceful but close enough to activities for a great combination. The unit was very spacious and the accommodations were great for the guests we had with us. The units are set around a small pond with a nice walkway around it. Would definitely consider staying again. The biggest surprise in the area was Oriental, NC. Beautiful drive along the water in that area. New Bern was a great town and we could sure tell the folks living there were very proud of their historical town! Definitely recommend the Tryon Palace tour and trolley tour of New Bern. We did not have a bit of trouble with internet connection the whole week.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The Resort at Fairfield Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful grounds and peaceful. However, the units are run down and in need of a major refresh. Varnish on woodwork is peeling off and needs to be refinished. The most frustrating issue was the internet service. Router constantly drooped the connection and when important emails needed to be sent or received we had to drive into a coffee shop in New Bern. Management is aware of the problem but they have no plans to fix it. Unless you are looking to be 'disconnected' for a quiet getaway...stay elsewhere.

We had a great time in New Bern and can't wait to return. Great little town.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Fairview Habour resort is basically one level; no high rises. Most condos are on retention lakes and close to the marina on the main river. There lots of historic and natural sites nearby. Right down by the marina is a great seafood restaurant with an outside deck with a local flavor; it is on the resort so you don't have to drive very far. Off-season is the best time and quiet. I would not reccommend for children.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is true this is not managed by Wyndham - because the owners were not happy with the way Wyndham was handling the property and hired another company. Some of the timeshare units were not managed by Fairfield for the last 10 years before Wyndham bought Fairfield. This is a beautiful, quiet area. We have been vacationing here since 1980 and will continue. The present management company is trying very hard to improve the property where Wyndham let things go. It is much better than some other places we have stayed through RCI. If you want something brand new, don't come here. The beach is 45 minutes away and New Bern is 10 minutes away. Read more than just one or two reviews. It's a great place to relax and take day trips.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have done RCI exchanges many times and this was the first time we were disappointed. To avoid repeating other's comments, here are some facts I would have liked to know before I booked here.
1. This is no longer a Wyndham property...a company called Resorts International now manages it
2. Fairfield Harbour is actually a golf and sailing focused residential community. There are a couple of areas of town homes and condos that are used for timeshares.
3. There is a community pool and rec center, but unless you are assigned one of the town homes or condos near there, you could be a mile or more from the pool
4. There is no maid service, so if you want clean towels during the week you have to launder them yourself
5. Bring insect spray, as we had to kill 3 or 4 Huge palmetto bugs (roaches) in our unit every night
We loved New Bern, But will NOT return to Fairfield Harbor.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went there with my wife and 2 grandchildren. We had accommodations in the Sandcastle II village. Check-in was painless. The unit was clean and everything was in good working order. The view from the back porch was terrific. Looking out over the lake with the morning coffee was a very nice way to start the day. The rec center was a very pleasant stroll from the unit although I drove there most of the time as my wife has bad legs. The pool was clean and well taken care of and the kids enjoyed the miniature golf.
The attractions are a bit of a drive but not too far. Atlantic Beach is about 25 miles and Fort Macon about 30. Both were very nice.
I would return as long as I got a similar unit in the same area.

Room Tip: Units in Sandcastle or Sandcastle II are great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the Condos on the north side of Broad Creek. The entire condo was clean and tidy. All the services worked very well, and the kitchen was really spotless and convenient.
When we called ahead for a late arrival the keys etc were conveniently placed in a lock box which we picked up at midnight without a problem.
The next day we checked in with friendly staff, and the events lady in the foyer was fantastic! The recreation center was great for us and the kids. Even the tennis courts were in top condition. Our only concern was that the Rec' center was too far to walk to, so we had to drive the kids back and forth.
If you are looking for a relaxing quiet time, this is the place for you! In comparison, the place we stayed at in Myrtle beach was awful!

Room Tip: if you enjoy golf, the condo porch upstairs is great for watching the players.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bern4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
5.0 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
310 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
7.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
221 reviews
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Fairfield Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Fairfield Harbour

Address: 475 Broad Creek Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-9326 (Formerly Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Harbour)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in New Bern
Price Range: $144 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Fairfield Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort features breath-taking waterfront, wildlife and golf course views. Each unit offers a furnished living area and full kitchen. All share in our generous amenities such as the marina, golf course, restaurant, pool and recreation center. We are 10 minutes from historic downtown New Bern and 45 minutes from the beautiful Crystal Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Resort at Fairfield Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Harbour Hotel New Bern
Wyndham New Bern
New Bern Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing