We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Taco Loco

El Taco Loco
Ranked #13 of 167 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's a take-out, and such places rarely rate a good review, but the food here is as good as it gets; everything is made to order, so you have to wait a bit but it's worth it, and the staff is pleasant and efficient. There are a few tables but usually I do take out. I can't recommend one item over the others, They are all excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FJB3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    15
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome tortas !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Fresh food & on site made hot sauces make this a keeper. Staff's nice & do a nice job. Don't pass by this little gem tucked away in the corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple, cheap but good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Heading back with kids on a long drive looking for a wick lunch but not fast food. We stopped on because of the good reviews. Even my picky eater liked the chicken quesadilla and steak taco. Food was inexpensive but tasted great. Service was great too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GruntWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff is always friendly and the food is always amazing! I haven't had something I don't like yet. You can call your orders ahead of time for fast pick-up too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in New Bern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I'm originally from Chicago and finding good Mexican food there is as common as finding sweet tea here in NC. The other Mexican restaurants are good, but not as authentic and delicious as El Taco Loco. Their tacos al pastor are second to none with a Coca Cola from a glass bottle. If you like Tamales and Menudo they are available on weekends. The only thing I wish they had is horchata, but because I love their food I still go for an Excellent score of 5.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Taco Loco also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to El Taco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing