We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean and convenient to services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New, clean and convenient to services”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I stayed based on other reviews -- I was going to stay in New Bern downtown, but found this place convenient to shopping and it provided a full kitchen so I could prepare a low-salt meal to my liking, instead of staying downtown where I would need to struggle with restaurant menus...gurrrr. It cost a bit more than a budget hotel,but with the kitchen, I came out fine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BikerEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
21
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

This hotel can be described in one word: OUTSTANDING.
Desk Clerk: Cheryl - OUTSTANDING.
Hotel: OUTSTANDING, SUPERB SERVICE / LOCATION
Close to everything
Highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here on a recent business trip to the New Bern area. I was concerned about the hotel since I've never stayed at a Candlewood Suites hotel before.
This hotel is located just west of the highway, near the local mall, and all the usual chains. Being well set back from the road its very quiet. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The lobby 'store' is stocked with lots of things that their guests might need, including a few unexpected treats.
The rooms are a little on the small side, for being suites. The bed is set into a small alcove with just enough room to shimmy down either side. The desk/work area is wedged in between the Kitchen and the TV/dresser. The bathroom is ample sized, nicely laid out, with a great shower.
Most important is that its quiet - very quiet - no guest noise, no road noise.
Since all units have kitchens there is no complimentary breakfast. Either carry in, or visit the lobby store. But instead of being stuck with a mini coffee brewer there's a real coffee pot with real coffee - no crummy pods to put up with.
All in all, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stayed (actually still staying) here for 6 nights (one-bedroom suite). Efficient check-in even at 1130 pm. Very clean place. Friedly and helpful employees. Nicely appointed suite also well suited for business meetings with 3-4 persons. Kitchen has everything one needs.
Location close to Highway, shops, post office, restaurants. I would come here again anytime.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frwsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Came to New Bern to ride in MS Bike Ride. Had booked hotel in March for the rate of $98 per night. Was charged $130 per night. Manager said employee gave me wrong rate in March. Would not change rate and was very rude. I did not have choice but to stay since I was scheduled to be at bike ride @ 7 A.M. Called home office. They did said that they had record of me being given $90 rate but they said that manager was only one to refund money. Did give me priorty points but were not equal to amount of money that I was charged! You can be sure that I do not stay there during next year's Bike Ride or for that matter ever again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bikerider614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbon, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

New property February 2010. Still has that new smell about it. Had one Bedroom Suite and it was very nice. Only appliance missing was oven. Plenty of seating, two TV, closets, very easy access, many restuarants, shopping within 1/2 mile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emo3f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The hotel was new so of course it was very nice. The room was nice with a kitchen and all. However we were on the 1st floor by the laundry room and it was very noisy so needless to say no sleep. Also I had pre-paid for my room on line so when I checked in they wanted my card so they could keep a hold of $150.00 on it in case we messed up the room. They were nice and gave me the option of paying $60.00 in case instead of the $150.00. However when I checked my bank statement the next morning they not only took my $60.00 in cash they also put a hold on my debit card for the $150.00. Then they told me there was nothing they could do about it since it was the weekend and the manager who did it wasn't here. I was not very happy about it and for this I will not stay here again. Just be mindful of what you give them at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyvinray82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
3.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New Bern

Property: Candlewood Suites New Bern
Address: 3465 Dr M L King Jr Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especially designed for stays of a week or more, at Candlewood Suites® you’ll find just what you need to live, work and relax comfortably. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen and the new Comforts of HomeTM Bedding Collection. Our signature amenities you’ll find at this guest preferred leader in extended stay hotels. Consider us homeTM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing