We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
GreenLeadersSilver level
Johnson City, TN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I really liked the value and price of our stay. The room itself was very spacious, everything seemed to clean and worked properly. The location was very impressive, it seemed to be close a lot of places you look for when staying or visiting other places. I would stay here again it served our purpose well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank is_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewBernManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their visit to our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you find a chance to return to our hotel again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
21
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

When I first arrived to the hotel, there was no one at the front desk. Clue #1, this was going to be a nightmare. #2, when I booked the hotel, there was nothing on the website that said for me to tell them that I had a dog and when I got there, they didn't have a dog room. No where on the website does it say that they don't allow animals in ALL the rooms. I drove from Florida to get there. They made the exception, but then had the nerve to complain because my dog was barking. I heard dog barks, baby cries, children running down the hallways at late hours and music and TV's playing really loud. First of all, my dog was with me that first night and it wasn't crying. In addition, as the lady at the front desk was scolding me out loud to where everyone could hear, I heard the sound of another dog barking! Really???? There is no maid service, but not really any other kind of service either. I'm really irritated with this hotel. Smokers and drunk people occupy this place at night where the grill is. That's classy....not! I just came back from a memorial service for the death of my best friend and I really couldn't take the stupidity of the front desk lady. Will NEVER stay at this dive again. I knew I should have went with the Hilton Doubletree. They have better everything. I'd rather pay the $50 extra to stay in a better hotel. This place is for the birds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristytheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewBernManager, Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Firstly thank you for your review,Inspite of having NO Petfriendly rooms we have accommodated you and your family on a second floor which we went extra mile to find the room and Hotel was sold out .We had no more pet rooms available, also there was no notification about having a pet during check in.We are pet friendly hotel which is clearly indicates on a web site . Guest was aware of the pet fee, the Hotel got guest to sign the pet agreement was told that the pet must be in a crate at all times, when the guest(s) are not in the room. We only allow pets on the first floor designated rooms only for pets.
Guest left the next day, and left the pet in the room, free without putting the pet in the crate. Dog was barking all day long and was scratching up room door; we had other guest(s) complaining about the barking dog. So we sent Nora the housekeeper to check the room, the dog was loose roaming the room; she had to put him in his crate herself.
We had a family reunion and campers complaining about this situation.We had left several messages for them to call us in regards to the barking dog.
We do respect our Guest Privacy as far as Room Service is concerned because our guest wants to feel trusted and free to do what they want in their own space in a room. we do have designated smoking area on a patio near rear entrance.
Please let us know in advance if you are coming with Pet so we can happily accomodate you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked this hotel partly because it is "pet friendly". It is very clean and quite "new looking". The location, for me was great because it was easy to get to the routes I wanted to travel as well as easy to get "downtown". It is located very close to a host of restaurants and shopping. Just down the street is a great bagel shop--great breakfast sandwiches! For my purposes, this place was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psufan559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed four nights. The hotel has no catering facilities, but IHoP is just over the road, and many other dining places. Check-in staff are friendly and efficient, and the fitness room is good. Everything is clean and modern and works properly. There is no maid service, which I quite like because they are not beating on your door to clean the room every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is fairly new and kept up well. Full kitchens. Some rooms are true suites and have separate living room and bedroom, but not all. Only drawback is that access is a little tricky due to all the raised concrete medians in the highways surrounding it making u-turns necessary until you learn how to cut the block to get in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orange_Products
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewBernManager, Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay. Our location is near all the shopping and good restaurants around. We will take this suggestion in our future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Second time to return to the area for work in Aurora, NC.
This hotel is very clean and in very good repair. The kitchenette is stocked with the tools to cook meals. There are two grocery stores within 1/2 mile from the hotel.
Management and staff are friendly and helpful for your needs.
Will stay again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewBernManager, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Our staff and management will always do everything possible to keep the confidence you shown in us and our brand. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been living here for three weeks while working. The place is great. The hotel is clean, in good repair, the staff are awesome, and it's close to everything. Across the road is good eating and a few miles away is awesome seafood at sting ray cafe behind Tryon palace. I'll be using this hotel for all my future travels to this town. Oh the beach is not too far away for an evening trek if you can get an early start.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishandwassabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
3.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New Bern

Property: Candlewood Suites New Bern
Address: 3465 Dr M L King Jr Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especially designed for stays of a week or more, at Candlewood Suites® you’ll find just what you need to live, work and relax comfortably. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen and the new Comforts of HomeTM Bedding Collection. Our signature amenities you’ll find at this guest preferred leader in extended stay hotels. Consider us homeTM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing