We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Pizza and customer service!”
Review of Savage's Wood Burning Pizzeria - MOVED

Savage's Wood Burning Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT Pizza and customer service!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My parents and I walked into Savages at about 8:55 on a Saturday night, not realizing that the place normally closes at 9pm. Instead of turning us away, they told us to come on in and we could order whatever we wanted. After my dad ordered his diet soda, we realized that they had already unhooked the soda machine. Instead of telling us "sorry, we can't get you that", they hooked it back up and reassured us that it was no problem. Our pizza was delivered to our table quickly and was cooked perfectly. After enjoying it, we got some homemade ice cream and we were again reassured that we didn't have to leave - we could sit down and enjoy our ice cream at our table. The people working there were extremely friendly and thanked us for coming in, despite our late arrival which surely kept them later. Great restaurant!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, NC
1 review
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best pizza we have had in New Bern; great thin crust and flavor. We will definitely return. Great service and we really appreciated the extra touches. They brought out crayons and animal crackers for our kids and made sure that they got the kids food out quickly. They also have an icecream counter in the restaurant, which the kids also enjoyed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding service!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The waitress we had was very nice, and brought out our appetizer and main meal quickly. The Chicken Fingers tasted very good with the honey mustard sauce. They were very juicy and tasted homemade. The pizza crust tasted very delicious with the wood fire oven taste. I would definitely love to taste all their specialty pizzas. I love that they even have Coke and Pepsi products in the same building! The only thing that I would like for them to do different is have spicy Jalapeños since I love spicy food :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Always drop by for lunch whenever we are in town. There's nothing like good pizza with iced tea to help the day run right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“newbern”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great pizza! Very accomodating. We had a large party and were taken care of very will. Great Valentine Day Special. All the wives enjoyed our night out......

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savage's Wood Burning Pizzeria also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing