We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great peaceful, secluded gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterwood Townhouses
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This time share is part of a large condo/housing complex called Fairfield Harbour in the beautiful central coast of North Carolina, about 11 miles from New Bern. We spent a great week here on a last minute deal through RCI. The units are rustic townhouses--there are laundry facilites on the lower level--you have to climb 20 steps to the main level (not good for those who have physical problems). On that level is a fully stocked kitchen, living area with flat screen TV and DVD player, 2 bedrooms (one with a queen bed, one with twin beds) and 2 bathrooms, as well as two decks overlooking a beautiful view of the lake. There is a spiral staircase to the loft which has two twin beds, but no bathroom. In the unit is a book with loads of information about the time share, the area and things to do around coastal North Carolina.

There is no wifi in the units, but you can get free wifi, as well as two computers, at the rec center--which was only about 150 yards away. The center is the hub of many activities at the resort. They have classes, activities, socials, etc. planned throughout the day. There is also an indoor pool, with a hot tub and spa. There is also an outdoor pool, tennis courts, volley ball, etc. The staff at the rec center are great and do everything possible to help you out and make your stay successful.

The time share is across the river from New Bern, which has many sights and alot of history, as well as numerous interesting restaurants and many shopping options (Walmart, Target, etc.). In the immediate area of the time share there are no stores or restaurants. There is a Food Lion about 6 or 7 miles away, and a pizza place about 5 miles away.

We really liked Waterwood and hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a "freebee" for us, from a timeshare. I had low expectations having never been to this city, but remembering about 20 years ago when coworkers were gobbling up building lots here because they were cheap. Guess what? The joke was on me. We had a great time. The condo was clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been nicer. There is plenty to do both in the complex and around the area. There is a good golf course just across the highway, guests at Fairfield Harbor get a special rate ($25 for 18 holes, including cart). Great value for the size of the unit (sleeps 8). Be aware that there are 20 steps to get up to the living area...could be difficult for older folks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank patrizia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We traded into this resort several times via timeshares and liked it well enough to eventually buy a week! Resort is actually in Fairfield Harbor, across the river from the charming southern town of New Bern. Waterwood is a home of its own with parking and laundry facilities at ground level; 2 bedrooms/2 baths at entry level along with kitchen, dining room, and living room with fireplace. Balconies off dining room and master bedroom. Yes, kitchen is small - but adequate and who wants to cook much on vacation anyway? Up a floor is an open-spaced 3rd bedroom (no bath) which is great for teens to have their own space. Kitchen is well-stocked; extra linens and toiletry items are provided. Only suggestion: pillows could be more fluffy.

The grounds are well kept and overlooking pond with fish/turtles/ducks. There are many daily activities to choose from - for all ages and abilities. Playground, mini-golf, basketball court, tennis, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant, sailing opportunities, small tour bus to see New Bern, bicycle rentals, socials, crafts, kids' activities, and small store for those forgotten necessities are right on site! Friendly, accommodating staff - gave us a call the first day to make sure everything in our unit was satisfactory (which it was)! Wireless Internet at Rec Center along with nice exercise/game/activity rooms.

As you leave Broad Creek Road, the Food Lion (to your left) and Piggly Wiggly (to your right) are only short drives away for groceries. In New Bern, there are many restaurants to choose from, and if you want great seafood, stop in Gary's Downeast Seafood in Arapahoe (where you may want to take the nearby 20-minute free ferry ride into Havelock).

Downtown New Bern is simply charming!!! Birthplace of Pepsi! Wonderful upscale shops, restaurants, romantic carriage rides, river cruises, and riverfront historic homes along with Tryon's Palace. Venture about 45-minutes to the Crystal Coast and visit historic Beaufort (pirate Blackbeard territory)/Cape Lookout/Shackelford Banks and then cross the bridge to Atlantic Beach, Pine Knoll Shores (aquarium), Salters Path, Emerald Isle, etc. to enjoy the ocean.

There is plenty of things to keep you busy right at the resort, and there is never enough time to see everything even in a week's stay if venturing out. Waterwood/New Bern is not your typical tourist destination and that's why we return every year and never tire of it.

Room Tip: The community of Fairfield Harbor includes Waterwood Townhomes, Sandcastle Cove and Harborside Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank polly-renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

These are separate two-story townhouse-type buildings with laundry facilities in a very peaceful location cleverly hidden amongst the trees with views of the pond.
Although not as luxurious as other timeshares we've stayed in, this 2-bedroom, 2-bath was clean and comfortable. The only drawback was the size of the kitchen and the inability to fully open the small drawers due to the oven door being in the way. The kitchen utensils were in a drawer on the opposite side of the kitchen counter and was only accessible from the small dining area. Remember to set the dishwasher for the hot wash cycle or your soap won't dissolve. The dishes and other utensils didn't appear to be clean but we finally attributed it to the quality of the water on the resort property. We missed not having Internet service in the unit itself although wi-fi was free at the Rec Center. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We loved sightseeing in New Bern and really enjoyed the southern hospitality. So much to see, so little time -- we'd love to go back some day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank hilkerrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
4.9 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
316 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#2 of 10 in New Bern
645 reviews
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
222 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Castle Village
Sand Castle Village
#2 of 7 in New Bern
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterwood Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterwood Townhouses

Address: 1141 Broad Creek Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-7153
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in New Bern
Price Range: $139 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterwood Townhouses 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Waterwood Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterwood Townhouses Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing