We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, like home feeling :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Wonder Lake, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service, like home feeling :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and me, we stayed in this Hotel for two days while visiting New Bern for friend's wedding. We were suggested to stay somewhere else, but we chose to stay here because of the proximity to airport (one could literally walk the distance) and the place of the wedding just mile away. We did not expect much as we would from a Marriott or Hilton lets say and we were very surprised how beautiful our stay turned out. First extremely fast check in and pleasant desk service and right after walking into spacious room, nicely decorated, clean and smelled good. Two queen sized beds nicely made up, fridge, microwave, coffee maker with complementary coffee and tea, couple of bottles of water, nice desk with hotel info, and flat screen TV. Digitally controlled AC that did NOT resemble helicopter in flight. Even the pillows were soft! First thing the wife checked was the bathroom. Plenty of towels, and hair dryer and a quality one too. Very clean bathtub and shower with a good adjustable head. Imagine this one - water was DRAINING! Ironing board and iron and nice quite few hangers in the closet. The only thing I would ask for is a small safe box to put away travel documents when away from the room. Lots of lights and enough outlets for must have electronics (chargers). First morning we thought we skip the hotel's breakfast and went to New Bern Downtown. Disappointed came back and guess wot. I have never seen a breakfast like it before (we not talking all inclusive resorts here) They even have a waffle maker! It was awesome. Excellent room service too. For little over $100 bucks a night this was a 5 star for us. Thank you so much and we will definitely come back and recommend to friends and family. Yes, they do have a shuttle van also. All you need is give them a call.

Room Tip: Our room was 104 and we did like it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    59
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
86
51
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
petersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel was very pleasing and all its accomdations, staff, food, indoors pool and fittness ctr. Very clean in all areas. close to shopping malls, GM went over and beyond our request to accomdate for conference & meetings facilities. I would recommend and come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Catherine W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

First, let me say that our stay at The Best Western Riverside Inn and Suites was just perfect. The staff was ALWAYS friendly and courteous during our two night stay. I don't understand why anyone would give this hotel less than a perfect rating, it's just that nice. After researching all of the hotels in the area we felt this one would be just what we were looking for; we were not disappointed. The property was quite neat and clean, and when we walked into our room, it smelled fresh and looked/felt inviting. The beds are so comfortable, not too hard or too soft. Nice linens, fluffy towels, the mini fridge and microwave were clean and worked with no problems...it comes with coffee and tea service for two. I loved the how quiet our room was, we were just across the hall from the third floor elevator but we never heard it being used by the other guests. Breakfast is nice, too. We enjoyed sitting at the breakfast bar while watching the morning news. Don't let the fact that this property isn't on the water deter you from giving it a try, historic New Bern is only five minutes away and it's surrounded by various restaurants and a grocery store. Over all, it was a really nice weekend stay and we plan to return in October.

Room Tip: For couples staying longer than a night...book a king suite, the living area is as enjoyable as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Large spotless rooms, Comfortable beds, nice continental breakfast and great indoor pool. Staff was friendly. Close to downtown New Bern. Fridge, microwave and coffee service in room. Stayed at the Comfort Inn in the past but for the price the Best Western was a much better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was just beautiful. Our room had two queen sized beds that were as comfortable as our beds at home. We've stayed at a Hilton before and this place was just as nice. It was very clean and had a modern look. The breakfast had a lot of choices, but didn't care for the bacon or sausage. The staff was very helpful. We were in town for a funeral so this was not a pleasant trip and we had a problem with a relative arriving a day late but they went out of their way to accommodate us. We will stay here again if we should be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss23kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It's close to the main road, and easy to find, and close to restaurants and a grocery store. The hotel itself is very clean and well kept, as were the rooms. It is nice that the rooms are all accessed from inside, as we had 2 teenagers with us in their own room so we didn't have to worry about them. We were on our way to an island off the coast, and this was a good location to drive a couple hours from the airport in Raleigh, and stop for the night. The rooms were clean, with working air conditioning, and there was excellent water pressure in the shower. The pool was open and the kids were able to use it. All the staff was helpful, polite, and courteous. The breakfast was a little ho-hum, but that was probably because we didn't get up and get going until later in the morning. It looked like there was a better selection earlier. We will probably do this trip again, and if we do we'll stay here again. You can pretty much always count on a Best Western to be a nice, clean, safe place to stay for a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My second time at this Hotel. First visit was a year ago and I had cockroaches in my room. Went back last month, was promised the roach problem is solved, guess again. 3 Fat Cockroaches in my room. I came prepared and killed them with bug spray (see pictures) There is other reviews stating the same thing, so it is not just me. I am wondering why the heath department has not closed this place yet!

Room Tip: Walk through your room and check for bugs before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing