We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad start- AWESOME FINISH” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad start- AWESOME FINISH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We checked in on March 15th for a two night stay at this beautiful hotel. One thing to note, it is NOT beside the river as the name would lead you to believe. Check in was a breeze, we were met by friendly, helpful staff. Our room was very nice and clean. I just want to reiterate, this is a BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY and is well maintained and kept very clean!! Christina at the front desk gave us some great ideas for dinner. New Bern is a very pretty little city located at the confluence of the Trent and the Neuse rivers. The bad was the first night. There was a group of people who played "let's knock on doors" all night. Despite several calls to the front desk, this noise lasted until 4:30am when I called for the last time and the male staff member said they group had been asked to leave. I guess what no one knew at the time was that one member of the group remained and eventually let the rest of them in through the back door. When this was brought to light the entire group was made to leave, and they did. We were angry and sleep deprived and had planned to change hotels, but the front desk manager asked us to give the hotel a second chance and convinced us to stay. Our second night was free and they upgraded us to a suite with jacuzzi. I don't know if we were the only guests on that floor that had planned to stay two nights, but I'm sure there were others who were bothered by the same noise. That was a costly night for the hotel, but their main goal seemed to be in rectifying the situation as best as possible. Our second night was wonderful.The deluxe breakfast was really good and they had fresh lemon/lime water available at all times. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, because it was an AWESOME FINSH!

If you are in the area, take your camera and walk around the historic city. Take your GPS and plug in 37th Street Pizzaria and Pasta!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familygal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    59
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
86
51
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dix, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

After checking in We had issues with our room, I notified the front desk and they fixed the issue by giving us a new room, Breakfast was good. I was impressed with the afternoon staff at the front desk being very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Check for bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rllycmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurleyville, New York, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stay was good. Staff was friendly, accomodating and the htel was clean. Only opportunity is that the walls and door are thin so you can hear people in the hallway and above you. Otherwise would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ArthurA227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our two kids in a king suite. The hotel feels new with modern decor. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice linens. The indoor pool was a nice option, though the pool water was a bit cold. Location is excellent - just a short drive into New Bern and convenient to all areas.

We were completely underwhelmed by the service. Room service never came to our room, which we discovered after a long day of sight seeing. After going down to discuss this with the front desk, she immediately asked if I put up the "do not disturb" sign. No, I read the fine print that explained they will not come if you put out this sign. After asking what I needed, (I said clean towels and to have the garbage emptied), she handed over towels and a plastic garbage bag. Seriously?

Breakfast food was definitely a notch above the normal continental breakfast, but they were woefully understaffed. The garbage was overflowing to the point where people were putting plates on the floor next to the garbage can, and some crucial element was always out...spoons, syrup for the waffles, etc. The poor lady working the breakfast was busting her tail, but she just needed more help.

This hotel is trying very hard to be top notch, but they need more (and friendlier) staff to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed two nights and had absolutely *nobody* step into our room to clean/tidy. And no, we never displayed the "Do Not Disturb" tag on the door knob.

When we brought this up with the front desk, she looked up records and said "...it says someone did... oh sorry about that..." and reduced the charge by a whole 10 dollars! WOW!!!

Even though everything else was fine about the hotel, I am not sure we'll go back - more because of the nonchalant reduction of the charge by a meager $10 than anything else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Pisachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataldo, Idaho, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby was decorated very nicley and offered anything we may have needed. Very clean room, quiet and close to the airport. The breakfast area was clean and organized well. Very nice experience for us.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their visit to our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you find the chance to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My boyfriend is stationed in Cherry Point and we decided to stay here because it looked sexy and cozy. We also liked the idea that they're was an indoor pool and jacuzzi, but we didn't even get to use it. The regular room size is descent I wasn't happy with the energy of the room it seems layer out in all the wrong ways. The pictures on the website make it look a lot bigger than what it is. For our last night we rented to jacuzzi suite that was comfortably big and a great jacuzzi for two. I would come back to this hotel but I do believe it was overly priced. Its right across from the airport 5min car drive and its walking distance to mcs,ruby tuesdays and other fast food places.

The staff was incredible, the events manager made both me and my boyfriends experience an unforgettable one with her humor to play along to a surprise I was trying to do. The makeup wipes are great and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and to assist with the special arrangements. I am thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with the hotel and staff. I am glad that Christina was so helpful with your plans and such a humorous addition to your surprise. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you if you visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing