We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for your boat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Room for your boat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Enjoyed the time spent here, there was room to part a boat and good places to eat nearby. Breakfast was good in the morning. Staff very nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerihanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    59
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
86
52
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this Best Western. The hotel looks brand new. It is decorated beautifully and was very comfortable.

Everything was very clean. Bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. One neat feature of the room was a "clean remote" (special hotel remote control that is sealed so that it can be cleaned by housekeeping) for the TV. I am somewhat germophobic but had no problem using the remote control. They left mints in the room and two complimentary bottled waters--a very nice touch.

The hotel is well insulated from outside noise. It was very quiet and I got an excellent night's sleep.

Good sized bathroom that was well equipped. Room included a microwave and a refrigerator and a bedside clock radio that supported ipod connectivity.

I was traveling on business and other colleagues were staying at a more expensive hotel that was not as nice as this one. I will certainly stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obxninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Above average Best Western with a nice modern feel. Within minutes drive of historic downtown and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is realitively new to New Bern. The rooms are spacious, clean and new. The bed was a wonderful sleep. The A/C is controlled on the wall (which is a pet peeve for me) when it is controlled on the unit and doesn't shut off it can be annoying. The front desk personnel are great at their job and being helpful and friendly to the guest. Even tho this hotel is not on the river as many people think -- the hotel it self is worth staying at. It is reasonably priced and good for me it accepts CLC !!

Room Tip: I really don't think there is any problem with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GG0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

A Best Western would normally be way down my list of hotels that I would for an overnight stay. When I travel, i like to stay at unique and memorable properties and I'm willing to spend more money for these kinds of hotels. This hotel was a VERY pleasant surprise! I had a very early morning flight out of Coastal Carolina Regional Airport (EWN) in New Bern, NC and decided to spend the night close by. The hotel is right across the highway from the airport so it met that need. The hotel was clean, the receptionist was friendly and helpful - even at almost 11 p.m. - and the public spaces were pleasant and well-decorated. When I opened the door to the room, I was amazed! The room was larger than I expected, the bathroom was spacious and comfortable and the bed was perfect. The room was tastefully decorated, obviously clean and fresh and just restful. I don't know that I'll have an occasion to stay there again soon but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs accommodations in New Bern. By the way, this was the first hotel I've stayed in that had a cover on the TV remote designed to be cleaned. Nice touch!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Upon reaching this hotel I had some doubts. But to be very honest I was somewhat surprised and it was a good surprise. This hotel is like new. The front desk service gets an A+ from me. My room was rather large as well as my bathroom. They had a nice indoor pool with a jacuzzi. I rates cleanliness poor due to a situation with my room which management already knows of. The hotel is located walking distance to many places to eat at. I will for sure stay again of I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

As a few other reviews mentioned, this hotel is not "riverside" - New Bern is riverside, but this hotel is not. It sits back off a stretch of route 70 in an unassuming spot. There is no view, period- unless you like to look at townies cruising mcdonalds at 2am.
However- there are some pluses to this hotel. First, it is immaculately clean. The room was spotless and hypoallergenic. That is more than I can say for the Croatan National Forest, which was on fire during my visit, and dropping bits of white ash on my car and filling the lungs of Eastern NC with smoke. That's what they apparently call a controlled burn.
Anyway, the hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The bottle of water in your room is complimentary, rather than predatory. There is a continental breakfast but I have a thing for Waffle House, which is right there along with a Ruby Tuesday and the afore mentioned mcdonalds. The beds were comfy- they informed me that they charge more for king beds than for a double room, so if you book through a travel site and don't specify, you'll end up with queen beds instead of a king and they won't really help you over the phone. The prices are extremely good, particularly for the boutique style newish hotel (just a couple years old). I ended up with this gem using priceline and was surprised at the lack of a river, but happy with the price.
I would stay in this hotel again if I needed a clean, friendly dependable place to sleep. I think it would be nice in the winter because of its indoor pool. So that's it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing