We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in New Bern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in New Bern”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I've stayed in a few New Bern hotels while dropping off and picking up kid from camp. This is the nicest-probably because it is brand new. The name "riverside inn" is a bit misleading-as it is really by the highway. But it is only a 2 mle drive to historic New Bern. And easy access to road to Seafarer. Very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boblaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    62
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
87
57
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Edisto Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Best Western Riverside was great! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff were some of the nicest I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edistojules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was a great looking hotel. Very new. The decor was very sleek and modern. Great amenities -- widescreen tv, coffee maker, mini fridge, free wi-fi. The bed and linens were fresh and clean. The bathroom was spacious. Everything worked well. We stayed three nights for right at $300. Excellent deal. My only concern is if they'll be able to keep up appearances after a year. A cheap hotel doesn't stay nice for very long. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family staying in the New Bern area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salemite2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. Depending on your point of view it is either a great hotel or a confused hotel. Based on the name, we expected a riverside hotel. When we checked in we were warned not to expect what we may have been promised by the national reservation service. With one adult and boy & girl teenagers it was important that we get what we reserved: a king bed and a pullout couch. Though the parking lot was empty and obviously not everyone had checked in to the "sold out" hotel, we were told that we could not change our room if our room did not have a pull out couch. The clerk did not know what it had. This caused unnecessary angst for three exhausted travelers. But the room had the right accommodations. Brand new hotels are a different kind of delight- new towels, super clean, new bedding. This hotel was no different. BUT...the architect/designer appears to be young and they spent money on unnecessary touches and not on what travelers need/expect. With four floors, there is only one very....slow....elevator. The luggage carts only steer one way. And with all of those guests and a so-called full breakfast, you'd better get up early because there is only 1 waffle iron for 100+ potential guests. So bring your patience. One nice surprise, and not included in any materials, is that the teens went exploring and found a public swimming hole right around the corner on the river with platforms and Tarzan swings into the river.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoriyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked 2 nights over the 4th w/e for 3 people. We arrived late to a clean room, but no extra sheets for the pull out couch. The next morning we went to breakfast of cold cereal, sweet buns, toast /bagels or make your own waffles, dirty tables, dirty chairs and dirty floor and NO REGULAR COFFEE (only decaf or flavored). Had to spring for breakfast for 2 days (they were to have scrambled eggs at the hotel breakfast). Never had housekeeping in our room so NEVER received the bed sheets for the pull out couch or the extra towels we requested. Bed was never made and garbage was never taken out. What a disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn46923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

An absolutely beautiful room! Brand-new and modernly luxurious without feeling snooty. Great location and the staff was very pleasant as well. I stay in a lot of hotels and was a bit wary due to the Best Western name, but I can honestly say this was one of the best rooms I have stayed in in a long, long time. A great value for what I paid on Priceline as well! Only thing someone might find issue with is the lack of hot food on the complimentary breakfast. I can't imagine there being a better option in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husker4theSpurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. I believe they were sold out for the weekend. For a brand new hotel, I was surprised but the lack of housekeeping. We booked two rooms and both had similar problems. Dust on the phone and lamps, hair from previous guest in the tub, sink in the bathroom didn't look clean, carpeting in the room didn't look like it had been vacuumed since the previous guest.
They also didn't seem to be prepared to handle the crowd for breakfast. They had meager food selections. Food items were not refilled quick enough. All four of the coffee urns were empty. Perhaps they need more staff assigned when they know they're sold out.
It was a bad first impression. I will be checking reviews to see if the housekeeping issues have been resolved before I make reservations here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwysonvac_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
617 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing